New International Forum of Public Universities adopts first action plan - International headquarters at Université de Montréal

    MONTREAL, Oct. 12 /CNW Telbec/ - At the end of its first colloquium, the
International Forum of Public Universities (IFPU) has adopted an action plan
geared to increase exchanges and partnerships between the 21 member
    "Teaching and research can no longer be accommodated within a strictly
national context," explained Luc Vinet, rector of the Université de Montréal,
which hosted the inaugural colloquium. "The meetings we held during the
colloquium allowed us to determine the challenges facing public universities
and the actions we have to embrace if we want to continue to fulfil our role
in the development of society, in the context of internationalization."
    In their working sessions, representatives of the IFPU member
universities agreed to fit the forum's actions within a broader policy
framework in order to defend the role of public universities on the basis of
their defining values.
    They also agreed on the importance of promoting the distinctive and
innovative aspects of the forum in university communities in order to mobilize
the resources needed for new kinds of joint teaching and research activities.
    These activities could take the form of international summer or winter
schools, international camps, international humanitarian commitments,
international doctoral schools, new research partnerships or joint graduate
programs related to the priority development focus of member universities. The
institutions will also be encouraged to create associations for students from
the countries represented in the forum.
    The next official IFPU meeting will be held in Europe in 2008. As the
seat of the network's international headquarters, the Université de Montréal
will coordinate its exchanges and activities.

    About the International Forum of Public Universities

    The IFPU grew out of a series of meetings begun by the Université de
Montréal in 2004 in celebration of the 125th anniversary of its founding and a
seminar held at the Brussels Free University in 2005. The 21 member
universities plan to take part in the creation of new models of collaboration
on education, teaching and research. The network's permanent secretariat is
located at the Université de Montréal. A description of the member
universities is available online at The member universities

    - ARGENTINA: Universidad de Buenos Aires
    - BELGIUM: Brussels Free University
    - BRAZIL: Universidade de Sco Paulo
    - BURKINA FASO: Université de Ouagadougou (associate member)
    - CANADA: Université de Montréal
    - CHILE: Universidad de Chile
    - CHINA: Beijing University
    - CHINA: Nankai University
    - CZECH REPUBLIC: Univerzita Karlova v Praze
    - FRANCE: Université Sorbonne Nouvelle - Paris III
    - GERMANY: Albert-Ludwigs-Universitdt Freiburg
    - HAITI: Université d'Etat d'Haiti (associate member)
    - INDIA: Jawaharlal Nehru University
    - ITALY: Università di Bologna
    - JAPAN: Nagoya University
    - MEXICO: Universidad Nacional Autsnoma de México
    - MOROCCO, Université Mohammed V - Agdal
    - ROMANIA: Universitatea din Bucuresti
    - RUSSIA: Lomonosov State Moscow University
    - SENEGAL: Université Cheikh Anta Diop
    - SPAIN: Universitat de Barcelona
    - SWITZERLAND: Université de Genève
    - UNITED STATES: University of California

For further information:

For further information:; For all interview requests,
please contact Allard Hervieu Communications: Véronique Gabrysz, (514)
499-3030, extension 3,

Organization Profile

Université de Montréal

More on this organization


More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890