National "Pictures of the Year" winners announced

    VANCOUVER, April 30 /CNW/ - The News Photographers Association of Canada
(NPAC) is pleased to announce the winners of the premiere National Pictures of
the Year (NPOY) competition which recognizes the best work by Canadian
photojournalists in 2006.
    More than 1,200 images from 130 photographers across Canada competed in
twelve categories. A five-member panel of judges, including some of North
America's top photojournalists and photo editors, judged the entries in
    The judges included Graeme Roy, Director of News Photography - The
Canadian Press; Gary Hershorn, News Pictures Editor, North America - Reuters;
Susan Brisk, Editorial Director - Magnum; Ron Haviv, co-founder and
photographer - VII; and Natasha Lunn, Photo Editor - The New Yorker. Phill
Snel, Deputy Editor of the National Post, served as the judging coordinator.
    The complete list of winners is attached below. All photographs can be
viewed at
    The first annual NPOY is sponsored by The Canadian Press, Reuters, Nikon,
Transcontinental Media, CNW Group, The Globe and Mail, Winnipeg Free Press,
Maclean's, Hello!, Toronto Star and Epson.

    The National Pictures of the Year awards competition was created by NPAC
to recognize excellence in Canadian photojournalism. NPAC is a volunteer-run,
non-profit association comprised of the Eastern and Western Canadian News
Photographers Associations (ECNPA and WCNPA, respectively). The ECNPA and
WCNPA are the member associations for professional and student
photojournalists in Canada, and they champion quality and ethical photography
in journalism.

             2006 National "Pictures of the Year" list of winners

    PHOTOJOURNALIST OF THE YEAR: Sponsored by The Canadian Press
    Tyler Anderson, The National Post

    PHOTOGRAPH OF THE YEAR: Sponsored by Reuters
    Dan Riedlhuber, Reuters

    Daniel Hayduk, Loyalist College

    PICTURE STORY: Sponsored by The Globe and Mail
    1st - Dustin Leader, Redline Photo Agency
    2nd - Donald Weber, Atlas Press
    3rd - Tory Zimmerman, freelance

    SPOT NEWS: Sponsored by Transcontinental Media
    1st - Peter McCabe, The Canadian Press
    2nd - Jenna Hauck, Chilliwack Progress
    3rd - Jenelle Schneider, Calgary Herald

    GENERAL NEWS: Sponsored by CNW Group
    1st - Blair Gable, Ottawa Sun
    2nd - Steve Russell, Toronto Star
    3rd - Ryan Remiorz, The Canadian Press

    FEATURE PHOTOGRAPHY: Sponsored by Winnipeg Free Press
    1st - Tara Walton, Toronto Star
    2nd - Ryan Jackson, freelance
    3rd - Tyler Anderson, National Post

    PORTRAIT / PERSONALITY: Sponsored by Maclean's / Hello!
    1st - Donald Weber, Atlas Press
    2nd - Ryan Carter, freelance
    3rd - Ashley Hutcheson, freelance

    SPORTS ACTION: Sponsored by Toronto Star
    1st - Dan Riedlhuber, Reuters
    2nd - Christopher Pike, Brandon Sun
    3rd - Emma Bennett, Medicine Hat News

    1st - Ryan Remiorz, The Canadian Press
    2nd - Darryl Dyck, Edmonton Sun
    3rd - Darren Calabrese, Guelph Mercury

    1st - Wendell Phillips, freelance
    2nd - Bernard Brault, La Presse
    3rd - John Lucas, Edmonton Journal

    1st - Tobin Grimshaw, freelance
    2nd - Ryan Jackson, freelance
    3rd - Tobin Grimshaw, freelance

For further information:

For further information: John Woods, NPACPOY Co-Chair,,
(204) 291-3074; Joe Bryksa, NPACPOY Co-Chair,,
(204) 792-3089

Organization Profile


More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890