National Magazine Awards Foundation Announces The Winners of the 30th Annual National Magazine Awards

    TORONTO, June 15 /CNW/ - The National Magazine Awards Foundation (NMAF)
announced the winners of the 30th annual National Magazine Awards at the Carlu
in Toronto. The complete list of winners is online at
More than 700 guests were in attendance as the NMAF presented Gold, Silver and
Honourable Mention awards in 33 written, visual and integrated categories. 78
different magazines from across Canada comprised the nearly 300 total
nominations this year.
    The Walrus won the coveted Magazine of the Year award, given to the
magazine that most consistently engages, surprises, and serves the needs of
its readers. L'actualité was awarded Honourable Mention. A three-member jury
selected three finalists for this prestigious award from 43 magazines
nationwide. More information about the winners and finalists is available at
    The Walrus led all winners with 6 Gold, 10 Silver, and 34 Honourable
Mention (HM) awards. Toronto Life followed with 2 Gold, 4 Silver, and 17 HM.
Other multiple winners included Maclean's (3 Gold, 1 Silver, 11 HM), Toro
(4 Gold, 1 Silver, 10 HM) and L'actualité (1 Gold, 1 Silver, 12 HM).

    Top winners at the 30th annual National Magazine Awards:

         Magazine             Gold    Silver     HM     Total
         --------             ----    ------     --     -----
         The Walrus             6       10       34       50
         Toronto Life           2        4       17       23
         Toro                   4        1       10       15
         Maclean's              3        1       11       15
         Report on Business     2        2       11       15
         L'actualité            1        1       12       14
         Explore                1        2        8       11

    Highlights of the individual awards included Robert Fulford winning his
record 13th Gold Award, for Columns in Queen's Quarterly. Azure won Best
Magazine Cover for its "Water" issue. And Prefix Photo won the award for Best
Art Direction for an Entire Issue.
    From the individual's perspective, in the written categories David
Gilmour was a double Gold winner for his article "My Life with Tolstoy" in The
Walrus, which took the top honours in both the Essays and Personal Journalism
categories. Deborah Campbell won Gold in Society and Silver in Essays for her
piece "Iran's Quiet Revolution," also in The Walrus. Mark Shatzker won Gold in
Travel for "The Pecking Order" (Toro), Silver in Humour for "The Free Drinks
Investment Strategy" (Report on Business), and HM in Editorial Package. Other
multiple winners included Ray Ford (1 Silver, 3 HM), Trevor Cole (2 Silver,
2 HM), and Gerald Hannon (1 Silver, 2 HM).
    In the special categories, the winner of this year's Alexander Ross Award
for Best New Writer is Jeremy Klaszus, for his articles "Big Oil on Trial" and
"Trouble in the Fields" in Alberta Views magazine. Buffy Cram won the 2nd
annual Best Student Writer Award for her article "Man Hands" in Prairie Fire.
The full text versions of these award-winning articles are available online at
    The NMAF presented Neville Gilfoy with the prestigious Foundation Award
for Outstanding Achievement. Gilfoy has been behind the launch of several
magazines, including Atlantic Insight, Eastern Woods and Waters and Atlantic
Progress (later Progress; and he also created a French-language counterpart
Progrès), and has successfully built one of the most capable, committed and
determined publishing teams in Canada. For more information on Neville Gilfoy
and the Foundation Award, visit
    The winners of the Alexander Ross Award, the Best Student Writer, and the
Foundation Award were announced at the annual NMAF Nominees Announcement Party
on April 23 in Montreal.
    The NMAF conducted an online viewers-choice award for the Best Magazine
Cover of the past 30 years. Voting took place between June 1-14. The people's
choice for the Best Magazine Cover of the past 30 years is Canadian Geographic
    For a complete list of winners, visit
    On Monday, June 18, a streaming video of the entire awards presentation
will be available online at


    The National Magazine Awards Foundation (NMAF) is a non-profit
organization that promotes excellence in Canadian magazine journalism through
the judging and awarding of over 2,100 nominee submissions from across the
country. The NMAF recognizes the outstanding efforts of more written and
visual artists than any comparable organization on the continent, and is
supported in part by the Government of Canada (through the Canada Magazine
Fund of the Department of Canadian Heritage.)

For further information:

For further information: about the National Magazine Awards, please
contact: Richard Johnson, Communications Manager, (416) 422-1358,

Organization Profile

National Magazine Awards Foundation

More on this organization

News - Media

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890