National Business Book Award Finalists Announced

       This year's leading business books focus on shifting economies
                      and lessons from business leaders

    TORONTO, April 7 /CNW/ - The five finalists for this year's National
Business Book Award were announced today by co-sponsors PricewaterhouseCoopers
LLP and BMO Financial Group. The award of $20,000 is given to the author of an
outstanding Canadian business-related book.
    This year's entries are a mix of investigative writing and biographies.
The books examine the changing media landscape and profile its most powerful
moguls, reflect on the downfalls of big business, and predict shifting
economic power among the provinces. The authors offer lessons from the past
and reinforce the importance of Canadian business writing as a means to
understand current issues affecting the business world.

    This year's finalists are:

    -   Margaret Atwood, Payback: Debt and the Shadow Side of Wealth,
        published by House of Anansi Press. Atwood, a novelist, poet and
        essayist worked with CBC Massey Lecture series to look at the topic
        of debt. It is a valuable macro-perspective on a subject that
        currently dominates our lives. She is an intelligent outsider who
        seams together patterns and facts that provide context to the current
        crisis and where it slots into the human experience.

    -   Peter C. Newman, Izzy: The Passionate Life and Turbulent Times of
        Izzy Asper, Canada's Media Mogul, published by HarperCollins. Newman
        profiles a Canadian visionary and successful entrepreneur. Asper
        started with a single television station in an abandoned supermarket
        in Winnipeg. He went on to helm Canada's largest communications
        empire, CanWest, which includes Global Television and more than 60

    -   Gordon Pitts, Stampede!: The Rise of the West and Canada's New Power
        Elite, published by Key Porter Books. Stampede is about the rise of
        the west. Pitts predicts Calgary and Edmonton will soon become the
        centre of Canada's corporate and financial activities. He uses
        Stampede to profile the issues, the personalities and the societal
        and cultural nuance that will define this new order.

    -   Ted Rogers, Relentless: The True Story of the Man behind Rogers
        Communications, published by HarperCollins. Written with veteran
        journalist Robert Brehl, this book takes a few-holds-barred look at
        the life of the late Ted Rogers and Rogers Communications' quick
        ascent to become one of Canada's largest companies. The book is
        written with disarming honesty, and shows Rogers' sense of mortality
        - and a drive to create achievements that would live long beyond him.

    -   Kenneth Whyte, The Uncrowned King: The Sensational Rise of William
        Randolph Hearst, published by Random House Canada. This book is both
        a nostalgic look back at the glory days of the inception of
        traditional newspapers and an explanation of why the established
        model has become increasingly irrelevant. The bulk of the book
        focuses on Hearst's early life while living in New York, his romances
        and recreation, and the growth of his newspaper holdings.

    Now in its 24th year, the award continues to gain attention from not only
the Canadian business world, but also publishers, authors, journalists,
academics, economists, politicians and business leaders from around the world.
This year's National Business Book Award accepted entries whose themes
included business management, business history, business biography, or
economics in (or associated with) Canada.
    The National Business Book Award jury is chaired by Roger Martin, Dean,
Rotman School of Management, University of Toronto. The panel includes: Jane
Cooney, President, Books for Business; William Dimma, Chairman Emeritus, Home
Capital Group Inc.; Peter Mansbridge, Chief Correspondent, CBC Television
Network; Deirdre McMurdy, Vice-President, Public Policy Forum; and The
Honourable Pamela Wallin, Senator.
    The winner of the National Business Book Award will be announced on May
7, 2009 at a luncheon in Toronto hosted by PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP and BMO
Financial Group.
    Last year's National Business Book Award winner was William Marsden for
his book Stupid to the Last Drop: How Alberta is Bringing Environmental
Armageddon to Canada (and doesn't seem to care).

For further information:

For further information: or to arrange interviews, please contact: Mary
Ann Freedman, Freedman & Associates Inc., Tel: (416) 868-1500, Email:, Website:

Organization Profile

National Business Book Award

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890