"Mr. Hockey" Gordie Howe joins dozens of NHL Alumni and Canadian Women's Hockey Legends in the fight against Alzheimer's at the Scotiabank Pro-Am for Alzheimer's Hockey Tournament

Players to be drafted to amateur hockey teams who have raised more than $2.6 million for Gordie & Colleen Howe Fund at Baycrest

Players include: Dino Ciccarelli, Wendel Clark, Paul Coffey, Lanny McDonald, Mike Krushelnyski, Curtis Joseph, Lori Dupuis, Sami Jo Small, Vicky Sunohara, and more 

TORONTO, May 3 /CNW/ - The sixth annual Scotiabank Pro-Am for Alzheimer's Hockey Tournament in Toronto is an innovative fundraiser that offers amateur hockey players the chance to play with, and against, a host of NHL Alumni while raising critical funds for Alzheimer's research and care.  Teams must raise a minimum of $25,000, and based on the team's collective fundraising efforts, they will get to draft an NHL Alumnus to play on their team.

(*Please read carefully*)

WHEN Thursday, May 5, 2011
10:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m.
WHAT:  MEDIA KICK-OFF: Stanley Cup® surrounded with some of Hockey's Greatest Memories Former NHL® Hockey Legends share their memories in support of Alzheimer's
WHO:   NHL Alumni: Marty McSorley; Wendel Clark; Mike Krushelnyski; Bobby Baun; and Mark Napier;
  Scotiabank Senior Vice-President Toronto Region John Doig
  Senior Scientist Dr. Brian Levine, Rotman Research Institute at Baycrest
WHERE: Scotia Plaza, Concourse Level near ATMs
WHEN:   Thursday May 5, 2011
  11:30am - 2:00pm
WHAT:  GORDIE HOWE & FRIENDS LUNCH: an exclusive opportunity (ticketed event) for hockey fans to rub shoulders and meet their heroes while raising funds for Alzheimer's research. Master of Ceremonies James Cybulski will host a Hot Stove for attendees to hear some great stories from the hockey legends and everyone is sure to experience an intimate afternoon with hockey's greatest family.
WHO:  Gordie Howe, Wendel Clark, Georges Laraque, Marty McSorley, Dino Ciccarelli, Johnny Bower and many more.

Toronto Board of Trade, 4th floor
77 Adelaide Street West, Toronto
WHAT: DRAFT NIGHT: Scotiabank Pro-Am for Alzheimer's
             Draft Night is restricted to participating players, VIP guests and media
  The puck drop starts here as 720 amateur hockey enthusiasts make their    draft picks from a roster of more than 50 NHL Alumni and former     Women's Hockey Legends.
WHO:   Some of the world's best hockey legends including:
  Georges Laraque, Gary Roberts, Marty McSorley, Dino Ciccarelli, Wendel Clark, Paul Coffey, Lanny McDonald, Mike Krushelnyski, Curtis Joseph, Lori Dupuis, Sami Jo Small, Vicky Sunohara, and more… Please see attached media backgrounder for a list of all participating Alumni and Team Canada Women's players. 
  The Stanley Cup®
  Nearly 720 amateur hockey enthusiasts on 48 teams who have collectively raised more than $2.6 million in Toronto this year, taking the 2011 total to more than $4.9 million.
  Event Co-Chairs Jay Waks, Richard Cooper, Shari Silverstein and Bruno Kaiser
  Florence Weinberger, Interim President, Baycrest Foundation
  John Doig, Scotiabank Senior Vice-President, Toronto Region
  Duncan Hannay, Scotiabank Senior Vice-President, Canadian Marketing
WHEN: Thursday, May 5, 2011
  6:15pm - 10:30pm
WHERE: Muzik, Exhibition Place
  15 Saskatchewan Road, Toronto, ON




More than 50 NHL Alumni and Canadian Women's Hockey Legends are lacing up for a friendly competition in Canada's largest fundraising hockey tournament for Alzheimer's at the sixth annual Scotiabank Pro-Am in Toronto, on May 5, 6 and 7, 2011. The hockey heroes are being drafted to teams of everyday hockey enthusiasts from the GTA who are raising funds to help benefit the Gordie & Colleen Howe Fund for Alzheimer's at Baycrest.

The Gordie & Colleen Howe Fund is named in tribute to Gordie and in loving memory of his wife Colleen, who passed away in March, 2009 from Pick's disease, a form of dementia.  The Howe Fund provides valuable funding for care and research in Alzheimer's and related dementias at Baycrest.  Please visit, www.scotiabankproam.com

Participating NHL Alumni and Canadian Women's Hockey Players

Bill Derlago
Bob Sweeney
Brad Marsh
Bryan Muir
Bryan Trottier
Chris Nilan
Claude Lapointe
Claude Lemieux
Colin Patterson
Craig Muni
Curtis Joseph
Dan Daoust
Danny Gare
Darryl Shannon
Dave Hutchison
Dave Schultz
Dennis Maruk
Dino Ciccarelli
Gary Leeman
Gary Roberts
Gaston Gingras
Georges Laraque
Greg Gilbert
Greg Hotham
Jack Valiquette
Jason Woolley
Jason Zent
John Anderson
Ken  Belanger
Ken Houston
Kevin Maguire
Kraig Nienhuis
Lanny McDonald
Larry Murphy
Laurie Boschman
Lori Dupuis
Lou Franceschetti
Mark Laforest
Mark Napier
Mark Osborne
Marty McSorley
Mike Bullard
Mike Krushelnyski
Mike Pelyk
Pat Boutette
Pat Ribble
Paul Coffey
Ric Seiling
Rick Middleton
Rob Ray
Rob Zamuner
Ron Flockhart
Ryan Vandenbussche
Sami Jo Small
Steve Webb
Stew Gavin
Todd Harvey
Todd Hlushko
Tony Currie
Troy Crowder
Vicky Sunohara
Wendel Clark


SOURCE Scotiabank - Sponsorships

For further information:

FOR INTERVIEWS, and for MEDIA CREDENTIALS, please contact: 

Lorraine Quartaro; Director, Communications, Solutions with Impact
C: (416) 433-7232

Livy Feldgajer, Scotiabank Media Communications
416-866-6203, cell: 647-628-3501; livy_feldgajer@scotiacapital.com

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890