More than 150 notable Ontarians have joined the ranks of those supporting mixed member proportional (MMP) in the October 10 referendum

    TORONTO, Oct. 5 /CNW/ - Today released the names of more
than 150 prominent Ontarians who will vote for the mixed member proportional
(MMP) alternative in the October 10 electoral reform referendum.
    The complete list is available at
    "This growing list shows that people from all points on the political
spectrum, supporters of all parties and people from all backgrounds are
rallying to support the recommendation of the Ontario Citizens' Assembly on
Electoral Reform," said Rick Anderson, campaign chair for "It
is hard to imagine another issue that could unite such an impressive rainbow
coalition of well-known citizens."
    Among those voting for MMP are prominent Liberals such as George
Smitherman, Deputy Premier; Michael Bryant, Attorney General; John Gerretsen,
Minister for Municipal Affairs; Bob Rae, former Premier of Ontario and former
federal Liberal Party leadership candidate; Elinor Caplan, former provincial
and federal cabinet minister; Carolyn Bennett, MP; and Sharif Qaadri, MPP.
    Well-known conservative supporters include Senator Hugh Segal, former
advisor to Bill Davis and Brian Mulroney; Patrick Boyer, lawyer and former
Progressive Conservative MP; Senator Nancy Ruth; John Oostrom, former
Progressive Conservative MP; Walter Robinson, former Federal Director,
Canadian Taxpayers Federation; David Scrymgeour, former National Director,
Progressive Conservative Party; Andrew Coyne, columnist and media commentator;
and Rick Anderson, former advisor to Preston Manning.
    Other prominent political figures include Ed Broadbent, former NDP
leader; Jim Harris, former leader, Green Party of Canada; Stephen Lewis,
former UN ambassador; Tom Kent, former advisor to Prime Minister Lester
Pearson; and Lois Wilson, former Senator and former president of the World
Council of Churches.
    Those in the arts and entertainment industry include Don Ferguson, Roger
Abbott and Luba Goy of CBC TV's Royal Canadian Air Farce; Anton Kuerti,
pianist; John Beckwith, composer; and Stompin' Tom Connors.
    Writers and journalists are well represented, including Sally Armstrong,
contributing editor at McLean's; Elizabeth Gray, journalist and former
broadcaster; John Gray, journalist; Patrick Watson, broadcaster; and Rick
Salutin, columnist.
    Other notable community leaders include Dr. Joseph Wong, former chair,
United Way of Toronto; Nathalie Des Rosiers, former president, Law Commission
of Canada; Judy Rebick, CAW Sam Gindin Chair for Social Justice and Democracy;
Fraser Mustard, founding chair, Canadian Council for Early Childhood
Development; Susan Eng, former chair, Toronto Police Board; and Ursula
Franklin, physicist. is a multi-partisan citizens' campaign supporting the mixed
member proportional (MMP) voting system proposed by the Ontario Citizens'
Assembly on Electoral Reform.

For further information:

For further information: Steve Withers, Media Coordinator: (519)
282-1078,; Rick Anderson, Campaign Chair,,,

Organization Profile


More on this organization

Ontario Elections 2011

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890