Mercedes-Benz All-New 2008 C-Class wins the 2008 AJAC Award for Best New Luxury Car

    TORONTO, Dec. 4 /CNW/ - The Automobile Journalists Association of Canada
(AJAC) and the more than 70 journalists who participated in the annual
Canadian Car of the Year "Test Fest" in Niagara-on-the-Lake in October of this
year have awarded the coveted distinction of Best New Luxury Car to the
All-New 2008 Mercedes-Benz C-Class.
    25 years ago, Mercedes-Benz revolutionized the entry-level luxury segment
by launching the "190 series Baby Benz". The 190 evolved into the C-Class as
the series was redesigned in 1993, and again in 2000. In Canada, close to
50,000 C-Class units have been sold over the course of the series' lifetime,
making it a very important model for the Canadian Mercedes-Benz organization.
    The All-New 2008 C-Class, launched in September of 2007, is larger than
its highly successful predecessor, with a greater emphasis on agility, comfort
and safety. With a body that's 94 mm longer and 43 mm wider than the previous
model, the All-New 2008 C-Class boasts a markedly roomier cabin in both the
front and rear seating areas, and a wheelbase that's 46 mm longer. The new car
provides more luggage space, as well. With a nod to the recently introduced
S-Class sedan, the look of the new C-Class reveals the latest Mercedes design
direction that is characterized by an edgy interplay of taut lines and wide,
rounded surfaces. Revised suspension and steering help make the new C-Class
noticeably more nimble.
    The All-New 2008 C-Class is offered in two V6-powered models: the C300
with 228 hp and 221 lb-ft of torque, and the C350 with 268 hp and 258 lb-ft of
torque. The available no-charge sport package features a sportier look and
more dynamic handling of the car through its 17-inch wheels with all-season
performance tires, a sport suspension with lower ride height, AMG body
cladding, and last but not least: the Mercedes-Benz Star in the grille. Both
models share the latest technology advances from Mercedes-Benz, including the
newly developed agility control package with situation-responsive shock
absorber control.
    The fourth generation of the award-winning Mercedes-Benz 4MATIC
all-wheel-drive system is optionally available on the All-New 2008 C-Class.
This new 4MATIC system features a totally redesigned, full-time
all-wheel-drive system that's integrated into the seven-speed automatic
transmission. Its torque bias is 45% front/55% rear, which provides the
comfort and dynamics of rear-wheel-drive with the traction of all-wheel-drive,
exceptionally light weight at 75 kilograms (30 kilograms lighter than the
previous system), and significantly improved fuel efficiency.
    A new instrument cluster features three analog gauges that show engine
speed, road speed, fuel level and coolant temperature. A standard-equipment
bluetooth feature allows a phone that's still in a pocket or purse to be
operated through the audio system. A colour display nestled under a flip-up
cover at the top of the centre console is standard equipment on the All-New
2008 C-Class. When the car is equipped with the optional COMAND navigation
system, a power-operated colour display screen slides out and up when the
flip-up cover is raised.
    The All-New 2008 C-Class comes with all the safety features that people
have come to expect from Mercedes-Benz, from four-wheel independent suspension
and four-wheel disc brakes to six air bags, ABS anti-lock, traction control
and ESP stability control.
    The All-New 2008 C-Class excels with a multi-faceted product concept that
meets the expectations and requirements of a wide range of consumers. It is
offered starting at $41,000.
    AJAC's process of evaluating cars entered into competition for the
Canadian Car of the Year Awards (COTY) is extremely thorough. The vehicles are
tested in specific categories by a team of journalists who drive all models
back to back, on the same roads, under the same conditions, to ensure
objective evaluation.
    President and CEO of Mercedes-Benz Canada, Marcus Breitschwerdt, noted,
"The AJAC COTY process is an equitable method to judge vehicles, by people who
are truly experts when it comes to all things automotive. The fact that the
All-New 2008 C-Class has garnered this important and prestigious award
underlines the phenomenal acceptance of this car in the market and clearly
demonstrates that Mercedes-Benz is the world's premier luxury automaker. We
are very proud of this achievement."
    He added: "The All-New 2008 C-Class, with its many unique features and
characteristics, will appeal to a wide cross-section of the market and will
attract not only current Mercedes-Benz customers, but will also convince many
new prospects. The car makes no compromise as it provides the highest level of
comfort combined with truly superior driving dynamics. It stands for "Agility
Redefined" and will be the brand champion of 2008."

    /NOTE TO PHOTO EDITORS: A photo accompanying this release is available on
    the CNW Photo Network and archived at
    Additional archived images are also available on the CNW Photo Archive
    website at Images are free to accredited
    members of the media/

For further information:

For further information: JoAnne Caza, (416) 847-7550,; Arden Nerling, (416) 847-7556,; Please also visit our media site at

Organization Profile

Mercedes-Benz Canada

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890