Media notice - Council of the Federation to meet in Regina on August 5-7, 2009

    Media accreditation required

    REGINA, June 2 /CNW Telbec/ - As incoming Chair of the Council of the
Federation, Saskatchewan Premier Brad Wall will host the 2009 Summer Meeting
of the Council of the Federation from August 5 to 7 in Regina at historic
Government House.

    Media Accreditation

    Media representatives who wish to attend the 2009 Council of the
Federation Summer Meeting must register online at Click
on the link to "Media Room". Applicants will be screened to ensure they are
official media representatives. Media must register by July 10, 2009.

    Media Accommodation

    Media representatives are responsible for making their own hotel
reservations. A block of rooms are available at:

    Ramada Hotel & Convention Centre
    1818 Victoria Avenue
    Regina, Saskatchewan S4P 0R1
    Phone: (306) 569-1666 or 1 800 667-6500
    (Reference Group Code 12932)

    Media representatives must make their reservations no later than July 3,
2009 in order to qualify for a special group rate of $99.00 at the Ramada
Hotel & Convention Centre. After this date, the room rate and availability
will not be guaranteed.

    Media Work Room

    A media work room will be located in the Order of the Eastern Star
Building, adjacent to Government House. This room will be equipped with
Internet access, power outlets and television monitors.

    Preliminary Media Program (All times and events are to be confirmed)

    Thursday, August 6

    9:00 am   Council of the Federation Private Meeting (photo opportunity at
              start of meeting)
    6:00 pm   Reception, Dinner and Entertainment
              RCMP Heritage Centre and RCMP Training Academy, Depot
              Division (media invited, social only)

    Friday, August 7

    9:00 am   Council of the Federation Private Meeting
    1:00 pm   News Conference

    Media are asked to contact Jeff Welke with the Government of Saskatchewan
(contact information below), should they require assistance with specific
services in connection with this meeting.

    The Council of the Federation is comprised of all 13 provincial and
territorial Premiers. It enables Premiers to work collaboratively to
strengthen the Canadian Federation by fostering a constructive relationship
among the provinces and territories, and with the federal government.

For further information:

For further information: Media enquiries may be directed to: Kathy
Young, Executive Director, Communications, Executive Council, Government of
Saskatchewan, (306) 787-0425,; Jeff Welke, Executive
Director, Communications, Intergovernmental Affairs, Government of
Saskatchewan, (306) 787-6156,; Gisele Robert, Project
Manager, Council of the Federation Secretariat, (613) 563-4066,

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890