Media Alert and Interview Advisory - Scarborough Shines at 2nd Annual Walk of Fame

    - Seven local heroes receive their stars -

    TORONTO, Oct. 22 /CNW/ - Scarborough is celebrating its 2nd annual Walk
of Fame to recognize the outstanding achievements of Scarborough citizens to
their community and beyond. Seven inductees will receive their permanent stars
on the Walk of Fame for their contributions in the areas of arts and
entertainment, community, education, environment and sports. These seven will
join the ranks of Scarborough's finest, including last years inaugural Walk of
Fame inductees Jamaal Magloire, Wes "Maestro" Williams and Vicky Sunohara to
name a few. The Walk of Fame is located at Scarborough Town Centre.
    Celebrations continue into the evening with a gala dinner and awards
ceremony at the Delta Toronto East Hotel. Inaugural Walk of Fame inductee the
Honourable David Onley, Lieutenant Governor of Ontario, will be in attendance
to present an award to the Hunter family in honour of the late Bob Hunter.

    What:        Join Toronto Mayor David Miller as he honours the community,
                 the inductees and their families at the 2nd annual
                 Scarborough Walk of Fame. The events will be hosted by
                 Canadian television personalities Kathryn Greenwood (Wind at
                 my Back), Debra McGrath (Little Mosque on the Prairie) and
                 Teresa Pavlinek (The Jane Show) and feature a special
                 performance by Canadian Idol finalist, Martha Joy.

    Inductees:   Des McAnuff, Tony-award winning Broadway director and
                 producer with credits including Jersey Boys, The Who's
                 Tommy, Guys and Dolls and many more;

                 Cindy Nicholas, Canadian Sports Hall of Famer and record
                 holder for swimming across the English Channel;

                 Bob Hunter (posthumous award), Co-founder of Greenpeace,
                 author and television broadcaster;

                 Johnny Cowell, trumpeter, composer and former Toronto
                 Symphony Orchestra member;

                 Anson Taylor (posthumous award), teacher, principal and
                 former Scarborough Director of Education;

                 James Bamford, retired Police Superintendent and recipient
                 of the Governor Generals Medal for community work;

                 Dr. Ming-Tat Cheung, Chairman and President of the Chinese
                 Cultural Centre of Greater Toronto

    When:        Thursday, October 25, 2007

    Where:       Induction Ceremony and Unveiling of the Scarborough Walk of
                 Scarborough Town Centre - Centre Court
                 Between Brimley and McCowan, south of Highway 401
                 2 p.m.

                 Gala Dinner and Awards Ceremony
                 Delta Toronto East Hotel
                 2035 Kennedy Road
                 6 p.m.

For further information:

For further information: To attend the event or arrange an interview,
please contact: Suzanne Rappaport-Cho, Edelman Public Relations, (416)
979-1120 ext. 285,

Organization Profile


More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890