Media Advisory - The Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction - 2008 Shortlist Press Conference

    10:00 a.m. Tuesday, January 22nd

    TORONTO, Jan. 18 /CNW/ -

    WHAT:              Press Conference to announce 2008 Charles Taylor Prize

    WHEN:              Tuesday, January 22, 2008
                       Announcement:  10:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.

    -----------------  Consort Bar, Main Floor, 37 King St. East, Toronto
                       (Park east of King Edward Hotel)

    WHO:               Hosted by:  Noreen Taylor, Chairman, The Charles
                                   Taylor Foundation
                       Meet:       2008 Juror Charlotte Gray
                                   Prize Trustee & author Dr. David Staines.
                                   Major Canadian book publishers

    WHY:               The Charles Taylor Prize is one of the richest and
                       most prestigious literary awards in Canada. Since
                       2000, the CTP has been a major driving force behind
                       the growth and recognition of Canadian literary

    The Charles Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction celebrates Canada's
rich heritage of literary non-fiction, and the exceptional writers, authors
and journalists who captivate us with their stories, insights and style. Now
the most recognized literary non-fiction award in the country, The Charles
Taylor Prize for Literary Non-Fiction commemorates the life and work of the
late Charles Taylor, one of Canada's foremost essayists, a foreign
correspondent and a prominent member of the Canadian Literary community. The
Prize is presented annually to a Canadian author whose book best demonstrates
a superb command of the English language, an elegance of style and a subtlety
of thought and perception. Originally presented every two years, since 2004
the Prize has been awarded annually.
    2008 marks CTP's 7th year. A field of 137 titles is vying for this year's
Shortlist - the largest number of submissions ever. The Prize consists of
$25,000 for the winning author, and a $2,000 honourarium for each finalist as
well as promotional support for each title. The 2008 CTP winner will be
announced Mon. March 3rd.

For further information:

For further information: Media are requested to confirm their attendance
through Stephen Weir & Associates, Stephen Weir, (416) 489-5868, cell: (416)
801-3101,; Linda Crane: (905) 257-6033, cell: (416)

Organization Profile

Charles Taylor Prize

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890