Media Advisory - The Canadian Journalism Foundation 10th Annual Awards Gala

         Where Canada's top newsmakers meet Canada's top news people!
            Canadian Journalism Awards presented on June 6th 2007

    TORONTO, June 4 /CNW/ - The Canadian Journalism Foundation (CJF) Tenth
Annual Awards Gala, to be held on June 6, is a unique event that brings
together journalists, media executives, academic and business leaders to
celebrate and reward excellence in Canadian journalism.
    The Canadian Journalism Foundation is thrilled to welcome GRAYDON CARTER
as a special guest and honoree at this year's awards gala. Mr. Carter,
editor-in-chief of Vanity Fair magazine and an Ottawa native, will be
interviewed live on stage by Gala Co-Chair, John Fraser.
    "When we started the Gala ten years ago, we simply wanted to celebrate
excellence in journalism at a public event," said John Fraser, co-chair of the
CJF Gala. "Now the gala has taken on a life of its own and we actually make
news thanks to stars like the late June Callwood, Adrienne Clarkson and now,
this year, Norman Webster and Graydon Carter."

    What:        10th Annual Canadian Journalism Foundation Awards Gala

    Where:       The Fairmont Royal York Hotel - Concert Hall - 100 Front
                 Street West

    Who:         Gala co-chairs - John Fraser and Maureen Shaughnessy Kitts

                 Some of the prominent business, community and journalists
                 expected to attend include: Andy Barrie, Ian Brown, Andrew
                 Coyne, Philip Crawley, Senator Romeo Dallaire, Robert
                 Fulford, Hana Gartner, Richard Gwyn, Chantal Hébert, John
                 Honderich, Lisa LaFlamme, Linden MacIntyre, Carole MacNeil,
                 Peter and Melanie Munk, Don Newman, Peter C. Newman, Seamus
                 O'Regan, Dr. James Orbinski, Robert Rabinovitch, Evan
                 Solomon, Mark Starowicz, Brian Stewart, Beverly Thomson,
                 Galen and Hilary Weston, Hugh Winsor, Jan Wong and many

    When:        Wednesday, June 6th
                 Reception at 6:00 p.m., dinner at 7:00 p.m.

    Why:         Important presentations throughout the evening include:
                 -  Lifetime Achievement Award to Norman Webster in honour of
                    his renowned journalistic career as an editor, foreign
                    correspondent, columnist and reporter
                 -  Excellence in Journalism Award to two Canadian News
                 -  Presentation of the Canadian Journalism Fellowships, the
                    Atkinson Fellowship in Public Policy and the Martin Wise
                    Goodman Canadian Nieman Fellowship

    About the Canadian Journalism Foundation

    Established in 1990, The Canadian Journalism Foundation (CJF) is a
not-for-profit organization that is dedicated to the pursuit of excellence in
Canadian journalism by recognizing outstanding journalistic achievement and by
promoting dialogue among media, business, government, public policy groups and

For further information:

For further information: Ashifa Jiwani, The Canadian Journalism
Foundation, 117 Peter St., 3rd floor, Toronto, ON, M5V 2G9, Cell: (647)
896-4962, Fax: (416) 955-0395, e-mail:,

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890