Media Advisory - Press Conference: True Patriot Love Tribute Dinner in Support of the Canadian Military Families Fund

    Thurs. June 18, 2009, TD Bank Tower, 66 Wellington St W. 54th Fl.,
    11:30 AM

    TORONTO, June 16 /CNW/ - What do Harper, Ignatieff and Layton and May all
agree on? They agree Canadians need to stand up for the families of those who
put their lives on the line every day in the name of freedom.
    Like many other great Canadians, Harper, Ignatieff, Layton and May have
lent their names to the True Patriot Love Foundation because they understand
the sacrifices families make to allow our soldiers to serve.
    Join us with Gen (Ret'd) Rick Hillier and other supporters as we
officially launch the True Patriot Love Foundation. The Foundation was
established by Shaun Francis, Chairman & CEO, Medcan Health Management Inc. We
will be announcing the details of a Tribute Dinner in support of the Canadian
Military Families Fund, established by Gen Hillier to address the urgent and
unforeseen needs of military families.
    This initiative has brought together political, corporate and community
leaders who want to recognize the contributions of Canadian military families.
The committee (see the attached list) plans to raise 1.75 + million dollars in
our first year.

                           MILITARY FAMILIES FUND
         Metro Toronto Convention Centre, Tuesday, November 10, 2009

                               Honorary Chair

              General (Ret'd) Rick Hillier, C.M.M., M.S.C., CD.

                                Guest Speaker

                 General Walt Natynczyk, C.M.M., M.S.C., CD.

                               Dinner Co-Chairs

               Blake C Goldring, M.S.M., Ronald V. Joyce, CM.,
       Rebecca MacDonald, Major-General (Ret'd) Lewis MacKenzie, CM.,
                         O.Ont., M.S.C and Bar, CD.,
            The Honourable Frank McKenna, P.C., O.C, O.N.B., Q.C,
                     Howard Sokolowski, Charlie Spiring,
     The Honourable Belinda Stronach, P.C., Lawrence M. Tanenbaum, O.C,
                 The Honourable Hilary M. Weston, CM., O.Ont.

                            Fundraising Co-Chairs

               Elyse Allan, James Eaton, Linda Frum, Brian Read

                              Tribute Committee

               The Right Honourable Stephen Harper, P.C., M.P.
       Harvey Atkin, Joseph J. Barnicke, Douglas Bassett, O.C, O.Ont.,
                     Geoff Beattie, Chief William Blair,
        The Honourable Ed Broadbent, P.C., C.C. Derek H. Burney, O.C,
       The Right Honourable Kim Campbell, The Honourable Jean Charest,
    The Right Honourable Jean Chretien, O.C, The Right Honourable Joe Clark,
    The Right Honourable Colonel-in-Chief Adrienne Clarkson, P.C., C.C,
                 C.M.M., C.O.M., CD., Charles S. Coffey, O.C,
    George A. Cohon, O.C, O.Ont., Mark Cohon, Elizabeth Comper, Tony Comper,
     The Honourable William G Davis, P.C., C.C, Q.C, Senator Joseph A. Day,
       Robert Deluce, Senator Consiglio Di Nino, The Honourable Gary Doer,
                   Senator Michael Duffy, Fredrik D. Eaton,
     John Craig Eaton, K.St.J., O.Ont., D.Com., Senator Nicole C Eaton,
              Thor E. Eaton, Janet Ecker, Senator Art Eggleton,
     The Honourable Ernie Eves, Q.C, Senator J. Trevor Eyton, O.C, Q.C,
           Anthony S. Fell, The Honourable Gary Filmon, P.C., O.M.,
      Chief Phil Fontaine, The Honourable Myra A. Freeman, CM., O.N.S.,
     Senator Irving R. Gerstein, CM., O.Ont., The Honourable Robert Ghiz,
               Paul Godfrey, Senator Jerry S. Grafstein, Q.C,
       The Honourable Shawn Graham, The Honourable Michael D. Harris,
                 Stanley Hartt, O.C, Q.C, David J. Hennigar,
               Honorary Colonel Sally Horsfall, S.S.St.J., CD.,
    Michael Ignatieff, M.P., The Honourable Henry N.R. Jackman, O.C, O.Ont.,
           Senator Colin Kenny, James Kinnear, Jack Layton, M.P.,
    Jim Leech, The Honourable Ed Lumley, P.C., The Honourable Peter G MacKay,
    P.C., Q.C, M.P., Hugh MacKinnon, The Right Honourable Paul Martin, P.C.,
                Elizabeth May, O.C, G Wallace F. McCain, C.C,
    The Honourable Margaret Norrie McCain, The Honourable Dalton McGuinty,
             Senator Michael A. Meighen, Q.C, Mayor David Miller,
        The Right Honourable Brian Mulroney, Gordon M. Nixon, O.Ont.,
       Senator Pierre Claude Nolin, The Honourable Bev Oda, P.C., M.P.,
     Councillor John Parker, The Honourable David R. Peterson, P.C., Q.C,
         Rod Phillips, The Honourable Bob Rae, M.P., Reza R. Satchu,
              Senator Hugh D. Segal, CM., Edward Sonshine, Q.C,
             Chief William A. Stewart, FIFireE, CFO, CMM, AdeC,
               Chief Sharon Stinson Henry, Peter Stoffer, M.P.,
           The Honourable Brian V. Tobin, P.C., John H. Tory, Q.C,
    Justin Trudeau, M.P., The Right Honourable John N. Turner, P.C., C.C,
     Q.C, The Honourable Brad Wall, Senator Pamela Wallin, O.C, S.O.M.,
               The Honourable Danny Williams, W. Brett Wilson

                            Fundraising Committee

    Charlie Angelakos, William Arvanitis, Dany H. Assaf, Matthew Bassett,
         Randy Benson, Wendy Broad, John Capobianco, David Civiero,
          Michael Coates, Nick Cogan, Pauline Couture, Ferg Devins,
       Charles Field-Marsham, John A. Francis, Dr. Robert W. Francis,
        Michael Geddes, Claudia Hepburn, Tim Hodgson, Tim W. Hogarth,
         Sasha Jacob, Brett James, Sandra Keeley, Sarah Ker-Hornell,
         Kenneth R. Kirsh, William G Lambert, Dr. K. Kellie Leitch,
     Shawn Leslie, Deborah Lewis, Adrian D. Luces, Jean-Marc MacKenzie,
         Tim Magwood, Perry Miele, Allan P. O'Dette, Robert G Power,
         John F. Prato, David Purdy, David Pyper, Michael G Sherrard,
        Walied Soliman, Geoffrey Spidle, Lawrence Stevenson, Ron Tal,
         Stephen Tapp, Matthew Tedford, David Turner, Mark Wiseman,
                        Steve Yuzpe, Aubrey Zidenberg

                         True Patriot Love Committee

                             Chair: Shaun Francis
         Vice Chairs: Michael Burns, Alek Krstajic, Erin OToole, CD.
     Committee: B. Christopher A. Brown, James Dodds, Geoffrey J.R. Dyer,
       Bronwen Evans, Tracey Hubley, Garo Keresteci, Jeffrey Latimer,
               Janice O'Born, Major Cindy Tessier, Jaime Watt
               Karen I. Miller, Fundraising & Dinner Director

For further information:

For further information: Ms. Bronwen Evans, Vice President of Corporate
Affairs and Privacy Officer, Medcan Clinic, bronwenevans@medcan, (416)
350-8374 or Karen Miller, Fundraising and Dinner Director at the Dinner Office
at K.I.M. Inc., (416) 224-9990,

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890