Media Advisory - Press conference: Buzz Hargrove Tribute Dinner for Eva's Initiatives kick-off lunch

    TORONTO, Sept. 12 /CNW/ - CAW President Buzz Hargrove and management firm
ONEX founder Gerald Schwartz will sit down at the table, not for a tough round
of negotiations, but to help keep youth off Toronto's increasingly dangerous
    The group will be joined by political, labour and business leaders of all
stripes, including former CAW and Canadian Labour Congress President Bob White
and former Ontario Premier Bill Davis, as the CAW launches the Canadian
Tribute Dinner for Buzz Hargrove with the hope of raising $1.5 million in
support of Eva's Initiatives. Eva's Initiatives is an innovative and
award-winning organization that creates opportunities for homeless and at-risk

    SEPTEMBER 18, 2007 at 12:00 - 2:00 PM

    (One-on-one interviews available upon request, including Eva's

    A well-known advocate for social justice, Hargrove, with the CAW, has
continued to support Eva's Initiatives for nearly 10 years, as the
organization assists homeless youth move off the streets permanently. By
providing life skills and technologically advanced job training, Eva's has led
the way in creating opportunities for at-risk youth in the Toronto area. First
introduced to Eva's by Hargrove, Schwartz has also generously supported the
organization, contributing hundreds of thousands of dollars towards their
training programs.
    The Tribute Dinner will take place June 11, 2008 at the Metro Toronto
Convention Centre. With a committee already filled with the Who's-Who of
Canadian labour, business, industry and politics, it promises to be the event
of the year with over 1,000 guests from across Canada expected. (See the
attached list for the committee to date).

                       IN SUPPORT OF EVA'S INITIATIVES

                         (COMMITTEE TO DATE) 12/09/07

                            Masters of Ceremonies

        The Honourable William G. Davis, P.C., C.C., Q.C. & Bob White

                               Dinner Co-Chairs

                The Honourable Frank McKenna & Frank Stronach

                                Tribute Chair

                               Gerald Schwartz

                             Honorary Co-Chairs

         Reid Bigland, Arturo S. Elias, Ken Georgetti, Ken Lewenza,
                     Peggy Nash, M.P., William H. Osborne

                            Fundraising Co-Chairs

             Libby Burnham, C.M., Q.C., Charles S. Coffey, O.C.
               The Honourable Belinda Stronach, P.C., Bob White

                               Honorary Patrons

        Chief William Blair, The Right Honourable Jean Chretien,
                       The Honourable William G. Davis,
               P.C., C.C., Q.C., National Chief Phil Fontaine,
    The Honourable Michael D. Harris, The Honourable Henry N.R. Jackman,
    Stephen H. Lewis, The Right Honourable Paul Martin, Mayor David Miller,
    The Right Honourable Brian Mulroney, The Honourable David R. Peterson,
     P.C., Q.C., Chief William Stewart, The Honourable Warren K. Winkler

                              Tribute Committee

    Ayman Al-Yassini, Laurent Beaudoin, Johanne Belanger, Sharon Bennett,
         Larry Berdugo, Senator Larry Campbell, Giovanni Catizzone,
       George Chuvalo, Purdy Crawford, Thomas d'Aquino, Robert Deluce,
      Senator Con Di Nino, Patrick Dillon, Shirley Douglas, Mike Duffy,
         Tina Duke, Trudy Eagan, The Honourable Art Eggleton, P.C.,
                Martin Faucher, Joseph Gipp, Paul V. Godfrey,
             Senator Jerry S. Grafstein, Q.C., Senator Al Graham,
       Edward L. Greenspan, Q.C., E. Hunter Harrison, Craig Kielburger,
        Marc Kielburger, The Honourable Edward C. Lumley, P.C., LL.D.
           G. Wallace F. McCain, Kathryn McCain, Eleanor McGrath,
         The Honourable R. Roy McMurtry, Bill Moffat, Michael O'Shea,
           David Ogilvie, J. Robert S. Prichard, Heather Reisman,
    Senator Hugh D. Segal, C.M., Terrance Slobodian, Lawrence M. Tanenbaum,
                         Rick Vandermey, Nigel Wright

                            Fundraising Committee

      Tim Armstrong, B.J. William Arvanitis, Randy Barber, Wendy Broad,
     Aubrey Browne, Ed Buffett, Paul Cavalluzzo, LSM, Barrie Chercover,
    Roy Conliffe, Maria Crawford, Len Crispino, Ferg Devins, Frank Dimant,
      Antonio Dionisio, Frank Dottori, France Dubé, Janet Ecker, ICD.D,
    Andrew Faas, Gerry Fedchun, Paul Forder, David Garner, Peter George,
       Howard Goldblatt, Lyle Hargrove, Alicia Kay-Markson, Herb Kelly,
         Larry Kendall, Lisa Kendall, Erin R. Kuzz, Frances Lankin,
    Marie MacCormack, John Madden, The Honourable Steven W. Mahoney P.C.,
        Chair, Danielle Martin, Deirdre McMurdy, Dennis Mills, Lisa Murray,
    N.Jane Pepino, C.M., Q.C., Walter Shanly, Michael G. Sherrard, Emree
    Siaroff, Ken Silver, Michael Simon, Norman J. Stewart, Rick Van Heukelom,
                         Sam Wakim, Q.C., Bob Weese

For further information:

For further information: Shannon Devine, CAW Communications, (cell)
(416) 302-1699; Maria Crawford, Executive Director, Eva's Initiatives, (416)
977-4497 Ext. 140; To register or for information on the dinner, sponsorships
or donations, please call; Karen I Miller, Fundraising & Event Director, (416)

Organization Profile

Canadian Auto Workers Union (CAW)

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890