Media Advisory - Deadline for 2008 Jack Webster Awards extended to July 11

    TORONTO, June 26 /CNW/ -

    Eligible BC print and broadcast journalists may enter in the following

    -   News (one each for print, radio and tv),
    -   Feature (one each for print, radio and tv),
    -   Science and Technology,
    -   Legal Journalism,
    -   Business, Industry and Economics,
    -   Community,
    -   Chinese Language,
    -   Commentator of the Year - also known as the City Mike Award in honour
        of Jack Webster's groundbreaking CJOR radio program which established
        Webster as one of BC's pre-eminent commentators.

    Submissions must have been aired or published between June 1, 2007 and
May 31, 2008.
    Winners receive $1,000 and a 'Webster' statue. There are no fees to
    Visit the Foundation's website at for easy access to
a submission form and information about the 2008 Jack Webster Awards.

    Jack Webster Awards Dinner

    The awards will be presented the 2008 Jack Webster Awards Dinner on
Thursday, November 6th at the Westin Bayshore.

    The Jack Webster Foundation was established in 1986 to recognize
excellence in journalism in British Columbia. The work of the Foundation is
made possible by the generous sponsorship of Terasen Gas, HSBC, Vancouver
International Airport Authority, CN, Labatt Breweries of British Columbia,
Vancouver Port Authority, Worksafe BC, CGA, Bell Canada, BC Lottery
Corporation and Accenture.

For further information:

For further information: Nora Newlands, Executive Director, Jack Webster
Foundation, Tel. (604) 261-6184, Fax (604) 261-1964, Email:, Web site:

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890