Media Advisory - Celebrating the Achievements of Canada Millennium Scholarship Foundation Excellence Awards

    TORONTO, May 26 /CNW/ - On May 26, 2009 in Ottawa, the Canada Millennium
Scholarship Foundation will celebrate the achievements of its excellence award
laureates at a dinner at the National Arts Centre. Students who receive
Millennium Excellence Awards are a remarkable group of young people, having
demonstrated leadership, innovation, community involvement and academic

    Date:   May 26, 2009
    Time:   6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.
    Place:  National Arts Centre, 53 Elgin, Ottawa, Roof Top Terrace

    The Foundation has invited MPs, Senators and Innovators to be guest hosts
at a table of these students and their parents during this event. Ruth
MacKenzie, President of Volunteer Canada, Andrew Woodall, Director of the
Canada Millennium Scholarship Foundation's Excellence Award Program, and Mark
Wilkinson, an alumnus of the excellence program will speak. Guest Hosts
confirmed to date are:

    Malcolm Allen, MP, Welland              Debbie Lawes, Managing Editor,
    Niki Ashton, MP, Churchill               Tech Media Reports
    Maria Barrett-Morris,                   Jack Layton, MP, Toronto
     Associate, Fraser Milner                Danforth, Leader, NDP
     Casgrain LLP                           Lynda Leonard, Vice President,
    Dick Bourgeois-Doyle, Director           ITAC
     of Corporate Governance, NRC           Ondina Love, Executive Director,
    Peter Calamai, Science                   Canadian Association of Speech-
     Columnist/Carleton School of            Language Pathologists and
     Journalism, Toronto Star/               Audiologists
     Carleton University                    Ruth MacKenzie, President,
    Glenn Campbell, Executive                Volunteer Canada
     Director, Canadian                     Tony Martin, MP, Sault Ste. Marie
     Association of Optometrists            Phil McColeman, MP, Brant
    Robert Davidson, Director,              Lynn McGuigan, Executive
     Programs and Planning, Canada          Director, Ottawa Little Theatre
     Foundation for Innovation              Barbara McInnes, President & CEO,
    Blair Dickerson, Vice                    Community Foundation of Ottawa
     President of Communications,           Jim Munson, Senator,
     NSERC                                   Ottawa/Rideau Canal
    Ian Disend, Competition Law             Lynn Palmer, CEO, Canadian
     Officer, Competition Bureau             Council of Human Resources
     Canada                                  Associations
    Paul Dufour, Senior                     Alain Pineau, National Director,
     International S&T Advisor,              Canadian Conference of the Arts
     Natural Resources Canada                (CCA)
    Francine Ford, Executive                John Rafferty, MP, Thunder Bay
     Director, Canadian                     Yasmin Ratansi, MP, Don Valley
     Association of Physicists               East
    Martha Hall Findlay, MP,                Ellen Rukholm, Executive
     Willowdale                              Director, Canadian Association
    Feridun Hamdullahpur, Provost            of Nursing Schools
     and Vice-President (Academic),         Jean Saint-Vil, Deputy Director,
     Carleton University                     Networks of Centres of
    Roxy Hamilton, Business                  Excellence
     Development Manager, Centre            Karine Toupin April, Postdoctoral
     for Communications and                  Fellow, Institute of Population
     Information Technology,                 Health, University of Ottawa
     OCE Inc.                               Elizabeth Wilfert
    Mark Henderson, Managing                Bryon Wilfert, P.C, M.P.,
     Editor, RE$EARCH MONEY                  Richmond Hill
    François Houle, Dean, Faculty           Agnieszka Zagorska, Council,
     of Social Sciences,                     Department of Justice, Civil
     University of Ottawa                    Litigation Section

For further information:

For further information: Janet Sandor, The Impact Group, (416) 481-7070
ext. 25, (416) 802-5526 (cell)

Organization Profile


More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890