Media Advisory - Celebrating the Achievements of Canada Millennium Scholarship Foundation Excellence Awards

    TORONTO, May 27 /CNW/ - On May 28, 2008 in Ottawa, the Canada Millennium
Scholarship Foundation will celebrate the achievements of its excellence award
laureates at a dinner at the National Arts Centre. Students who receive
Millennium Excellence Awards are a remarkable group of young people, having
demonstrated leadership, innovation, community involvement and academic
    The Foundation has invited MPs and Senators to be guest hosts at a table
of these students and their parents during this event. Jennifer Flanagan,
President & CEO of ACTUA, Norman Riddell, CEO and Executive Director of the
Canada Millennium Scholarship Foundation, and Claire Chow, an alumnus of the
excellence program will speak.

    Guest Hosts confirmed to date are:

        The Honourable Susan Barnes, MP, London West
        The Honourable Dr. Carolyn, Bennett, MP, St. Paul's,
        Mr. Ken, Boshcoff, MP, Thunder Bay-Rainy River
        Mr. Patrick, Brown, MP, Barrie,
        The Honourable Senator Ethel M. Cochrane,
         Newfoundland and Labrador (Newfoundland)
        The Honourable Senator Anne C. Cools, Ontario (Toronto-Center-York)
        The Honourable Senator James Cowan, Nova Scotia (Nova Scotia)
         and Mrs.Shelagh Cowan
        The Honourable Senator Lillian Dyck, Saskatchewan (Saskatchewan)
        The Honourable Senator John Eyton, Ontario (Ontario)
        The Honourable Senator George Furey, Newfoundland and Labrador
         (Newfoundland and Labrador)
        Dr. Gary, Goodyear, MP, Cambridge
        The Honourable Gurbax Malhi, MP, Bramalea-Gore-Malton
        Mr. Brian, Masse, MP, Windsor West
        The Honourable Senator Lorna Milne, Ontario (Peel County)
        The Honourable Senator Jim Munson, Ontario (Ottawa / Rideau Canal)
        Mr. Rick, Norlock, MP, Northumberland-Quinte West and
         Mrs. Judy Norlock
        The Honourable Senator Vivienne Poy, Ontario (Toronto)
        Monsieur Marcel Proulx, MP, Hull-Aylmer
        Mr. Lloyd, St. Amand, MP, Brant and Brantford
        Mr. Paul, Szabo, MP, Mississauga South
        Mr. Mike, Wallace, MP, Burlington

    Date:     May 28, 2008

    Time:     6:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m.

    Place:    National Arts Centre
              Roof Top Terrace
              53 Elgin, Ottawa

For further information:

For further information: Janet Sandor, The Impact Group, (416) 481-7070
ext. 25, (416) 802-5526 (cell)

Organization Profile


More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890