Media Advisory - Canadian Olympic Committee to Reward 2008 Olympic Medallists With Athlete Excellence Fund Money

    Interview and Photo Opportunities

    TORONTO, Oct. 8 /CNW/ - The Canadian Olympic Committee (COC) will
officially reward Canadian medallists from the 2008 Olympic Games with money
from the newly-instituted Athlete Excellence Fund on Saturday, Oct. 11 at 4:30
p.m. Twenty-one Canadian medallists will be at the event, celebrating a Games
that saw the Canadian Olympic Team surpass its goal of finishing amongst the
top 16 countries in the overall medal count.
    The Athlete Excellence Fund awards $20,000 to Olympic gold medallists,
$15,000 to silver medallists and $10,000 to bronze medallists.
    All the attendees at the event Saturday afternoon will also be in
attendance at the Toronto Maple Leafs' season home opener against the Montreal
Canadiens at the Air Canada Centre the evening of the 11th.

    Athlete Excellence Fund Reception

    WHEN:   Saturday, October 11, 2008 at 4:30 p.m.

    WHO:    Lou Ragagnin - COC Chief Operating Officer
            Sylvie Bernier - 2008 Canadian Olympic Team Chef de Mission
            Peter Giles - 2008 Canadian Olympic Team Assistant Chef de
            Iain Brambell - Men's Lightweight Four Rowing (Bronze medal)
            Jason Burnett - Men's Trampoline (Silver medal)
            Karen Cockburn - Women's Trampoline (Silver medal)
            David Calder - Men's Pair Rowing (Silver medal)
            Tracy Cameron - Women's Lightweight Double Sculls (Bronze medal)
            Ryan Cochrane - Men's 1500m Freestyle Swimming (Bronze medal)
            Mac Cone - Team Show Jumping (Silver medal)
            Thomas Hall - Men's Canoe C-1 1000m (Bronze medal)
            Jill Henselwood - Team Show Jumping (Silver medal)
            Emilie Heymans - Women's 10m Platform Diving (Silver medal)
            Malcolm Howard - Men's Eight Rowing (Gold medal)
            Carol Huynh - 48kg Women's Freestyle Wrestling (Gold medal)
            Melanie Kok - Women's Lightweight Double Sculls (Bronze medal)
            Mike Lewis - Men's Lightweight Four Rowing (Bronze medal)
            Kevin Light - Men's Eight Rowing (Gold medal)
            Priscilla Lopes-Schliep - Women's 110m Hurdles (Bronze medal)
            Liam Parsons - Men's Lightweight Four Rowing (Bronze medal)
            Dominic Seiterle - Men's Eight Rowing (Gold medal)
            Karine Sergerie - 67kg Women's Taekwondo (Silver medal)
            Adam van Koeverden - Men's Kayak K-1 500m (Silver medal)
            Tonya Verbeek - 55kg Women's Freestyle Wrestling (Bronze medal)

    WHERE:  Royal York Hotel, Territories Room, Main Mezzanine,
            100 Front Street West, Toronto

    The Canadian Olympic Committee is a national, private, not-for-profit
organization committed to sport excellence. It is responsible for all aspects
of Canada's involvement in the Olympic movement, including Canada's
participation in the Olympic and Pan American Games and a wide variety of
programs that promote the Olympic Movement in Canada through cultural and
educational means. For more information see the COC website:

For further information:

For further information: Steve Keogh, Director, Communications, Canadian
Olympic Committee, Phone: (416) 324-4146, Cell: (416) 806-3949, Email:

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890