Media Advisory - Assembly of First Nations Election for National Chief Underway

    OTTAWA, May 27 /CNW Telbec/ - 2009 is an election year for the Assembly
of First Nations. First Nations Chiefs from across the country will vote for
the AFN National Chief at the AFN's 30th Annual General Assembly to be held in
Calgary, Alberta from July 21-23. The voting begins on July 22.
    Ms. Loretta Pete Lambert has been appointed by resolution to officiate as
the Chief Electoral Officer for the 2009 AFN election. Ms. Loretta Pete
Lambert is from the Little Pine Cree Nation in Saskatchewan and has 16 years
experience in First Nations' elections.
    The Chief Electoral Officer and her office are responsible for rules
outlined in Appendix "A" 1990 of the AFN Charter. The AFN Charter and election
rules are available on the AFN website at:
(see Articles 20 -22 and Appendix "A" for relevant information).
    According to rules established under the AFN Charter, nominations for
National Chief are open as of May 27 (eight weeks prior to the election) and
close June 16 (five weeks prior to the election).
    Shortly after the close of nominations, the AFN will announce the
official candidates for the 2009 AFN election for National Chief.

    The Assembly of First Nations is the national organization representing
First Nations citizens in Canada.

For further information:

For further information: Don Kelly, A/Communications Director, Assembly
of First Nations, (613) 241-6789 ext. 334, cell: (613) 292-2787, e-mail

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890