Media Advisory - Alberta pharmacists, physicians and RNs host patient care conference

    CALGARY, April 27 /CNW/ -

    WHAT:   Strengthening the Bond: Collaborating for Optimal Patient Care
            More than 700 Alberta pharmacists, physicians and registered
            nurses come together in an effort to strengthen interprofessional
            relationships and to improve patient care. This is the first
            conference jointly hosted by the following five organizations
            representing three of Alberta's major health professions: Alberta
            College of Pharmacists, Alberta Medical Association, Alberta
            Pharmacists' Association, College and Association of Registered
            Nurses of Alberta and College of Physicians and Surgeons of

    WHEN:   May 3-5, 2007

    WHERE:  Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel

    WHO:    Speakers include:

    Dr. Zubin Austin           Professor of Pharmacy, University of Toronto.
                               Research includes integration of
                               internationally educated health professionals
                               in the Canadian health care system and the
                               evolution of inter-professional primary care

    Dr. Jeanne Besner          Director, Health Systems and Workforce
                               Research Unit, Calgary Health Region and
                               interim chair of the Health Council of Canada.
                               Research focuses on optimizing the role of all
                               members of the inter-professional health team.

    Sister Elizabeth Davis     Chair of Canadian Health Services Research
                               Foundation, President of Medical Council of
                               Canada, and member of the Board of the College
                               of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada.

    Dr. Mamta Gautam           Internationally-recognized expert and pioneer
                               in the area of physician health. Founding
                               director of the University of Ottawa Faculty
                               of Medicine Wellness Program.

    Dr. Nick Kates             Professor and vice-chair of Department of
                               Psychiatry & Behavioural Neurosciences at
                               McMaster University. Expert on integration of
                               specialized services in primary care.

    Dr. Ginette Lemire Rodger  Vice-president Professional Practice and Chief
                               Nursing Executive at The Ottawa Hospital, the
                               University of Ottawa Heart Institute and the
                               Rehabilitation Centre. Her many achievements
                               include modification of the primary health
                               care agenda of the World Health Organization.

    Stephen Lewis              Currently a Commissioner for the World Health
                               Organization's Commission on the Social
                               Determinants of Health and a senior advisor
                               for health and human rights at the Harvard
                               School of Public Health. Recognized world-wide
                               for passionate advocacy on behalf of people
                               suffering from HIV/AIDS in Africa.

    Dr. Ivy Oandsasan          Associate professor and research scholar with
                               the Department of Family and Community
                               Medicine at the University of Toronto. Co-
                               chair of the Interprofessional Care Project
                               for the province of Ontario.

    Dr. Ann Russell            Researcher at the Knowledge Translation
                               program at the Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute
                               at St. Michael's Hospital/University of
                               Toronto, consultant at Faculty of Medicine,
                               University of Toronto.

For further information:

For further information: Lynn Otteson, Alberta College of Pharmacists,
Tel: (780) 990-0321, E-Mail:; Shannon
Rupnarain, Alberta Medical Association, Tel: (780) 482-0322, E-Mail:; Cynthia Rousseau, Alberta Pharmacists'
Association, Tel: (780) 990-0326, E-mail:; Margaret
Ward Jack, College and Association of Registered Nurses of Alberta, Tel: (780)
453-0515, Cell: (780) 932-1376, E-mail:; Kelly Eby,
College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta, Tel: (780) 969-4973, Cell:
(780) 690-4833, E-mail:

Organization Profile


More on this organization


More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890