Marc Gagnon and Marianne Limpert Lead Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame's Class of 2007

    HALIFAX, April 21 /CNW/ - Five-time Olympic short track speed skating
medallist Marc Gagnon and 1996 Olympic swimming silver medallist Marianne
Limpert head a list of six inductees who will be enshrined this evening in the
Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame. Hosted by television broadcaster Brian
Williams, the 2007 Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame Gala Dinner & Induction
Ceremony, presented by General Motors of Canada Limited, is scheduled to take
place at the World Trade and Convention Centre in Halifax, beginning at 5:30
    Gagnon, Limpert and 1932 Olympic figure skating bronze medallist
Montgomery Wilson will be enshrined in the athlete category. Deryk Snelling
will be inducted in the coach category while Les McDonald and Brian Wakelin
will enter the Hall as builders.
    During the Hall of Fame induction ceremony, the COC will also present
five-time Olympic medallist Clara Hughes with the 2006 International Olympic
Committee Sport and the Community Trophy in recognition of her outstanding
contribution and commitment to promoting and assisting the development of
sport at both the national and international level.
    The Canadian Olympic Hall of Fame recognizes those who have served the
cause of the Olympic Movement with distinction. This evening's six inductees

    Marc Gagnon (athlete, Montreal, Que.), one of the most successful
athletes in Canadian sport history. Gagnon is a three-time Olympian who won a
total of three gold and two bronze medals while representing Canada in short
track speed skating on the sport's biggest stage. Gagnon is the holder of
every major title in short track speed skating. His total of five Olympic
medals is the most by a Canadian male athlete in the history of the Olympic
Winter Games and is the second most in Canadian sport history. Apart from the
Olympic Winter Games, Gagnon also achieved great success at the World
Championships, winning the overall title in 1993, 1994, 1996 and 1998.

    Marianne Limpert (athlete, Fredericton, N.B.), represented Canada in
swimming in three consecutive Olympic Games beginning in 1992. Throughout her
Olympic career, Limpert competed in nine disciplines, recording a top-eight
finish each time including a memorable silver medal performance in the
200-metre individual medley at the 1996 Olympic Games in Atlanta. Apart from
her success at the Olympic Games, Limpert achieved numerous podium results on
the international stage including capturing a silver medal at the World
Aquatic Championships to go along with nine medals at the Commonwealth Games
and 10 podium finishes at the Pan American Games. In 1998, she was named
Canada's opening ceremony flag bearer for the Commonwealth Games in Malaysia
and went on to capture gold, silver and bronze medals.

    Montgomery Wilson (athlete, Toronto, Ont.), a three-time Olympian in
figure skating, he became the first Canadian and North American man to record
a podium finish in the sport at the Olympic Winter Games following a bronze
medal performance in the men's singles discipline at the 1932 Olympic Winter
Games in Lake Placid. During the course of his career, Wilson also represented
Canada in men's singles at the 1928 and 1936 Olympic Winter Games and became
the first Canadian man to capture a medal at the World Championships after
winning a silver at the 1932 event in Montreal. He passed away in 1964 at the
age of 55.

    Deryk Snelling (coach, Vancouver, B.C.), one of the most accomplished
swimming coaches in Canadian Olympic history. Beginning in 1972, Snelling
represented Canada at seven consecutive Olympic Games, serving as the national
team's head coach in Montreal, Moscow, Los Angeles and Barcelona. Throughout
the course of his career, Snelling guided a total of 60 swimmers to the
Olympic Games, with 21 reaching the podium. Among some of the prominent
Canadian swimmers Snelling coached include Olympic medallists Mark Tewksbury,
Curtis Myden, Tom Ponting, Leslie Cliff, Cheryl Gibson, Donna-Marie Gurr,
Wendy Hogg, Bill Mahoney and Bruce Robertson.

    Les McDonald (builder, North Vancouver, B.C.), a tireless lobbyist and an
influential advocate for the sport of triathlon. McDonald is widely regarded
as the driving force behind the event's inclusion onto the Olympic Games
programme in 1993. The President of Triathlon Canada from 1984-1996, McDonald
has also made a great impact in the Canadian sport community by organizing
some of the first regional and national triathlon championships in Canada.

    Brian Wakelin (builder, St. John's, Nfld.), was instrumental in growing
the Olympic Movement and developing the sport of hockey across Canada over a
30-year period, beginning in 1971. Wakelin was elected as the Vice President
of the Canadian Olympic Association in 1990 and represented Canada at five
Olympic Games, including serving as Chef de Mission at the 1998 Olympic Winter
Games in Nagano. An influential member of the Canadian Amateur Hockey
Association, Wakelin held a variety of positions within the organization
including Chairman of the Board from 1985-1987.

    The Canadian Olympic Committee is a national, private, not-for-profit
organization committed to sport excellence. It is responsible for all aspects
of Canada's involvement in the Olympic movement, including Canada's
participation in the Olympic and Pan American Games and a wide variety of
programs that promote the Olympic Movement in Canada through cultural and
educational means. For more information, see the COC website:

For further information:

For further information: Media Contact: Eric Michalko, Manager, Media
Relations, Canadian Olympic Committee, Cell: (416) 528-6742, Email:

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890