MAAWG Announces 2007 Leadership, Plans 10th General Meeting in Dublin to Address Online Abuse

    SAN FRANCISCO, March 14 /CNW/ -- The global organization of network
operators and vendors working to protect users' inboxes from abusive email,
the Messaging Anti-Abuse Working Group (MAAWG), has announced its new 2007
leadership and plans for a general meeting in Dublin, Ireland in June. From
AOL, Charles Stiles was elected MAAWG Chairperson, with Michael O'Reirdan from
Comcast and Jonathan Curtis from Bell Canada as co-vice chairs.


    The MAAWG 10th General Meeting, June 5-7 in Ireland, is open to members
and invited industry guests, and will provide opportunities for dialogue among
peers combined with presentations from technology and public policy experts. A
session for Internet Service Providers and network operators also will be part
of the three-day working meeting.
    The organization's officers for 2007 were elected at a MAAWG meeting held
late January in San Francisco. The event was attended by over 300 company,
industry and governmental representatives, and resulted in progress on several
initiatives to help the industry reduce online abuse. Committee sessions at
the meeting furthered the organization's work on developing best practices for
volume email senders, a common abuse reporting format for Internet service
operators, and a protected MAAWG contact database for resolving reputation and
network issues among members, according to Jerry Upton, MAAWG executive
    The MAAWG leadership for the upcoming year represents the global
membership and variety of industry vendors that participate in the

    -   Serving with the other officers, Laurie Jill Wood, Charter
        Communications, is treasurer overseeing the finances of the rapidly
        expanding organization that grew over 60 percent last year.
    -   European Internet provider 1&1 Internet AG was elected to the Board
        of Directors, representing full-members.
    -   The co-chairs of the new Program Committee are J.D. Falk of Yahoo!
        Inc. and Craig Spiezle of Microsoft Corp. George Bilbrey, Return
        Path, Inc., and John Feaver, AT&T are chairs of the Collaboration
        Committee; Luc Mathan of France Telecom Group and Suzanne Morin of
        Bell Canada are Public Policy Committee co-chairs. Sam Silberman,
        Openwave Systems, and Rich Groves, Time Warner Cable, are chairs of
        the Technical Committee. The Anti-Phishing SIG co-chairs remain
        Daniel Dreymann, Goodmail Systems, and Vipul Ved Pradash, Cloudmark,
        Inc. The Botnet/Zombie Subcommittee co-chairs are Scott Chasin of
        MXLogic and David Dagon with Georgia Tech University. The Sender
        Subcommittee co-chairs are Dennis Dayman, StrongMail Systems, Inc.,
        and Ben Isaacson, CheetahMail, an Experian company.
    -   The 2007 MAAWG Board is comprised of representatives from AOL, Bell
        Canada, Bell South, Charter Communications, Cloudmark, Comcast, Cox
        Communications, EarthLink, France Telecom Group, Goodmail Systems,
        Microsoft, Openwave Systems, Time Warner Cable, Verizon
        Communications and Yahoo!

    Information on MAAWG and the upcoming members' general meeting is
available at

    About the Messaging Anti-Abuse Working Group (MAAWG)

    The Messaging Anti-Abuse Working Group (MAAWG) is where the messaging
industry comes together to work against spam, viruses, denial-of-service
attacks and other online exploitation. MAAWG ( is the only
organization addressing messaging abuse holistically by systematically
engaging all aspects of the problem, including technology, industry
collaboration and public policy. It leverages the depth and experience of its
global membership to tackle abuse on existing networks and new emerging
services. Headquartered in San Francisco, Calif., MAAWG is an open forum
driven by market needs and supported by major network operators and messaging

    Media Contact: Linda Marcus, APR, 714-974-6356,, Astra

    MAAWG Sponsors (Board of Directors): AOL; Bell Canada; BellSouth (NYSE:  
BLS); Charter Communications (NASDAQ:   CHTR); Cloudmark, Inc.; Comcast (NASDAQ:  
CMCSA); Cox Communications (NYSE:   COX); EarthLink (NASDAQ:   ELNK); France
Telecom Group (NYSE and Euronext: FTE); Goodmail Systems; Microsoft Corp.
(NASDAQ:   MSFT); Openwave Systems (NASDAQ:   OPWV); Time Warner Cable, Verizon
Communications; and Yahoo! Inc.

    MAAWG Full Members: 1&1 Internet AG; A T & T; Bizanga LTD; Internet
Initiative Japan, (IIJ NASDAQ:   IIJI); IronPort Systems; MX Logic; O2; Outblaze
LTD; Return Path, Inc.; Rogers Cable; Sprint; Sun Microsystems, Inc.;
Symantec; Telus; and Trend Micro, Inc.

    MAAWG Supporters: AcquireWeb, Inc.; Adknowledge, Inc.; Aladdin Knowledge
Systems; Alt-N Technologies, Ltd.; Bluehornet Networks, Inc.; BigHip;
BoxSentry PTE Ltd.; CheetahMail, an Experian Co.; Cincinnati Bell; ColdSpark,
Inc.; Commtouch Software LTD; Constant Contact; Critical Path, Inc.; Datran
Media; e-Dialog; EastLink; eleven GmbH; EmailLabs; ECO; Epsilon;,
Inc.; ExactTarget, Inc.; F-Secure Corp.; Habeas Inc.; Informz; Insender
Technologies Inc.; Lashback, LLC; Mansell Group, Inc.; Merkle/Quris; Message
Level, LLC; Message Systems; Messagelabs; Messaging Architects; Mirapoint
Inc.; MTS Allstream Inc.; Netsuite, Inc.; Nextel Communications; NTL Group
Ltd.; PayPal, an eBay Company; Perftech, Inc.; Pivotal Veracity; Premiere
Global Services; RSA Security Inc.; Responsys, Inc.; RPost;;
Sandvine Incorp.; Sendmail, Inc.; Simplicita Software, Inc.; SMobile Systems;
Sophos Plc.; St. Bernard Software; StreamShield Networks; StrongMail Systems,
Inc.; Swisscom Fixnet, AG LTD; TDC; TDS Telecom; Team Cymru; ThinData; LP; Trend Micro, Inc.; TRUSTe; Tucows Inc.; Verisign Inc.;
VistaPrint; Word To The Wise; Yesmail and ZDirect, Inc.

For further information:

For further information: Linda Marcus, APR, of Astra Communications, 
+1-714-974-6356, or, for MAAWG Web Site:,

Organization Profile


More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890