Kurt Browning to Host 2008 Canada's Walk of Fame, September 7 on CTV

    -- Sigourney Weaver, Linda Evangelista, Gabrielle Miller, Andrea Martin
       and Jeanne Beker top list of celebrity presenters announced for
                     10th Anniversary gala celebration --
         -- Gala also available on the CTV Video Player at CTV.ca --
    -- eTalk is counting down to the big event with four special Canada's
                 Walk of Fame episodes beginning Sept. 2 --
     -- etalk is there: Canada's Walk of Fame red carpet highlights first
                             weekend of TIFF --

    TORONTO, Aug. 28 /CNW/ - CTV announced broadcast details today for
Canada's Walk of Fame. Hosted by world champion, skating legend and Canada's
Walk of Fame inductee Kurt Browning, the stars align when the 10th Anniversary
gala event premieres Sunday, September 7 at 7 p.m. ET on CTV (visit CTV.ca to
confirm local broadcast times) and on demand on the CTV Video Player at
CTV.ca. The two-hour broadcast airs just one day after inductees will be feted
with retrospective videos and musical performances on Saturday, September 6 at
Toronto's Four Seasons Centre for the Performing Arts during the first weekend
of the star-studded Toronto International Film Festival. In addition, the
network announced today the celebrity presenters who will honour the eight
internationally-recognized Canadians who are receiving their stars on Canada's
Walk of Fame this year.

    Once again, eTalk leads CTV's coverage counting down to the big event,
with exclusive, never-before-seen interviews of the eight inductees airing
Tuesday September 2 - Friday, September 5 at 7 p.m. ET on CTV. At the event on
September 6, eTalk co-host Tanya Kim will interview celebrities as they
arrive, from the first position on the red carpet. Only eTalk has exclusive
backstage access at the Four Seasons, where eTalk reporter Zain Meghji will
capture the reactions of the inductees and presenters just moments after they
leave the stage.

    (xx) Media Note (xx) Download host, inductee and presenter photos from
Canada's Walk of Fame at ctvmedia.ca.

    "I was blown away when I was asked to host this year's Canada's Walk of
Fame," said Browning. "It's such an incredible honour, and I'm thrilled to be
a part of it."

    "It's Canada Day in September," said Susanne Boyce, President, Creative,
Content and Channels, CTV Inc. "The Canada's Walk of Fame broadcast allows
viewers from across the country to join in the celebration of these eight
remarkable Canadians."

    "This year marks our 10th anniversary and we are very excited about the
stellar list of Canadian talent being honoured," said Peter Soumalias,
Founding Director, Canada's Walk of Fame. "Every year, the list of stars on
the Walk grows and so do our celebrations. This year will be a year like no
other with many surprises in store for the show."

    The presenters slated to introduce each inductee during the gala tribute
    broadcast are:

    -   Sigourney Weaver: The Academy Award-nominee and Golden Globe-winning
        actress Sigourney Weaver presents filmmaker James Cameron. Weaver is
        currently filming Avatar with Cameron and appeared in his film
    -   Linda Evangelista: The supermodel and 2003 Canada's Walk of Fame
        inductee presents singer/songwriter/photographer Bryan Adams. Adams
        has photographed Evangelista.
    -   Jeanne Beker: The FashionTelevision host presents supermodel Daria
    -   Julie Bowen: The actress (Weeds, Lost) presents actor Michael J. Fox.
        Bowen appeared with Fox in Boston Legal.
    -   Gabrielle Miller: The Corner Gas star and comedic actor presents
        fellow actress Frances Bay.
    -   Andrea Martin: The multi Emmy and Tony Award-winning comedian and
        Broadway star presents to comedy troupe Kids in the Hall.
    -   Bryan Colangelo: The President and General Manager of the Toronto
        Raptors presenting to NBA player and MVP Steve Nash.
    -   Colm Feore: The Gemini Award winning actor presents for the late
        Oscar winners Norma and Douglas Shearer
    -   A presenter for singer/songwriter k.d. lang will be announced soon

    This year's gala marks the fourth year in a row that CTV will broadcast
Canada's Walk of Fame. The broadcast joins CTV's industry-leading line-up of
Canadian awards celebrations, including The JUNO Awards - the most-watched
Canadian awards broadcast - and The Scotiabank Giller Prize.

    About Host Kurt Browning
    Alberta native Kurt Browning began skating at three years old, originally
intending to become a hockey player. To get more ice time, Kurt started figure
skating, and never looked back. Kurt went on to become a four-time Canadian
Champion and four-time World Champion, quickly becoming one of Canada's most
celebrated figure skaters. Kurt is also a two-time U.S. Professional Champion
and three-time World Professional Champion. The first person to land a
quadruple jump in competition at the 1988 Worlds in Budapest, Kurt was also
the first skater to land a triple salchow-triple loop combination in
competition at the 1990 Nations Cup in Germany. Continuing to break records,
in 1991 Kurt was the first to land three triple-triple jump combinations in a
freeskate program at the Worlds in Munich, Germany.

    A three time Olympic Team Member, Kurt retired after the 1994 Winter
Olympics, going on to have a successful professional career touring with Stars
on Ice. More recently, Kurt was honoured with a 2001 Professional Skaters'
Association Gustave Lussi Award and was inducted into Canada's Sports Hall of
Fame in 1994, and Canada's Figure Skating Hall of Fame in 2000.

    Canada's Walk of Fame is produced by the CTV Specials Team. Executive
Producer is Marcia Martin. Susanne Boyce is CTV President of Programming and
Chair of the CTV Media Group. Ed Robinson is Senior Vice-President, Comedy and
Variety Programming, CTV Inc.

    About Canada's Walk of Fame:
    Established in 1998, Canada's Walk of Fame aims to engage Canadians in
celebrating the accomplishments of Canadians who have excelled on the national
or international stage in the areas of the arts, entertainment, sports and
innovation. The annual celebration culminates in a televised tribute special
that honours Canada's finest stars. Each inductee is immortalized, their names
forever cemented into the sidewalks of Toronto's entertainment district.

    A complete list of inductees and more details on Canada's Walk of Fame
can be found at www.canadaswalkoffame.com or www.ctv.ca.

    About CTV:
    CTV, Canada's largest private broadcaster, offers a wide range of quality
news, sports, information, and entertainment programming. It has the
number-one national newscast, CTV National News With Lloyd Robertson, and is
the number-one choice for prime-time viewing. CTVglobemedia Inc. is Canada's
premier multi-media company which owns CTV Inc. and The Globe and Mail. CTV
Inc. also owns radio stations across the country, and leading national
specialty channels. Other CTVglobemedia investments include an interest in
Maple Leaf Sports and Entertainment, and in Dome Productions, a North American
leader in the provision of mobile high definition production facilities. More
information about CTV may be found on the company website at www.ctv.ca.

For further information:

For further information: Amanda Rinaldo, CTV Inc., (416) 332-5325 or
arinaldo@ctv.ca; or Allie Page, CTV Inc., (416) 332-4596 or apage@ctv.ca

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890