Jury Named for the Largest Prize in Canadian Theatre - The 2009 Siminovitch Prize

    June 3rd deadline for theatre designer nominations fast approaching

    TORONTO, May 20 /CNW/ - BMO Financial Group today announced the members
of the jury for the 2009 Elinore & Lou Siminovitch Prize in Theatre. The
distinguished panel of theatre experts will select this year's recipient of
the $100,000 prize - the largest prize in Canadian theatre.
    The deadline for nominations for the Siminovitch Prize, which will be
presented this year to a professional theatre designer, is Wednesday, June
3rd. A short list will be disclosed in September, and the recipient and their
protégé will be announced in October.
    BMO Financial Group, a founding sponsor, will host the award ceremony.
"We are proud to promote the development of the arts in Canada," said Gilles
Ouellette, President and CEO of BMO's Private Client Group. "This award
recognizes the brilliant men and women of Canadian theatre whose achievements
entertain, challenge and provoke audiences across the country."
    Maureen Labonté, will preside as panel chair. Ms. Labonté is a past
Siminovitch Prize jury member and has extensive theatre experience in both
English and French communities across the country. Ms. Labonté succeeds
Leonard McHardy who acted as jury chair for six years.
    "We have a very experienced and dedicated jury to help us with this
year's selection," said Ms. Labonté. "We are all looking forward to reviewing
the work of Canada's most talented and influential theatre designers."

    The other members of the jury are:

    Mérédith Caron - one of Quebec's foremost costume designers and a teacher
    at the National Theatre School in Montreal;

    Kevin Kerr - award-winning playwright and founding member of the Electric
    Company Theatre in Vancouver;

    Sue LePage - celebrated Toronto-based set and costume designer for more
    than 25 years; and

    Mieko Ouchi - playwright, actor, stage and film director as well as
    co-founder and Artistic co-director of Edmonton's Concrete Theatre.

    (Please see biographical notes below.)

    About BMO Financial Group's support of arts and culture

    BMO Financial Group is one of Canada's largest corporate benefactors, and
a major contributor to arts and culture. In 2008, BMO contributed more than
$55 million in donations and sponsorships. BMO's funding supports numerous
cultural charities and organizations, ranging from grants to music and art
programs in schools, to sustaining grants for national cultural institutions.

    About the Siminovitch Prize in Theatre

    The Elinore & Lou Siminovitch Prize in Theatre honours professional
directors, playwrights and designers by acknowledging excellence and
encouraging further exploration in Canadian theatre. The Siminovitch Prize was
created in 2001 and is dedicated to distinguished scientist Lou Siminovitch
and his late wife Elinore, a playwright. A jury awards the $100,000 prize
annually. For further information about the prize, please visit

    Brief Biographies of Jury Members

    Maureen Labonté is a dramaturge, translator, teacher, and Co-Director of
the Banff Playwrights' Colony at the Banff Centre for the Arts. In the past,
she has worked at the Stratford Festival, the National Arts Centre in Ottawa,
and played the role of Literary Manager at the Shaw Festival among other
achievements. She has also worked at the National Theatre School of Canada
where she developed and facilitated a two-year pilot Directing program as well
as coordinated the school's Playwriting program. She still teaches at NTSC.
She has translated more than 30 Québecois plays into English including, The
Bookshop by Marie-Josée Bastien, August by Jean Marc Dalpé and Everybody's
Welles by Patrice Dubois.

    Mérédith Caron has contributed to more than a 100 works and is considered
a leader in her field. She works on a regular basis with such skilled stage
directors as Serge Denoncourt, Pierre Bernard, Louise Laprade, Martine
Beaulne, Denise Filiatrault, Daniel Roussel and Claude Poissant, and with
Richard Monette at the prestigious Stratford Festival. Since the beginning of
her career in 1978, she has shared her time between theatre, film and opera.
She also designed the costumes for 2 shows by the Cirque Eloize: Nomade and
Rain. She has received many prestigious awards including a Gémeau and two
Masque awards. She teaches art history and costume design at the National
Theatre School.

    Kevin Kerr is founding member and Artistic Associate of Vancouver's
Electric Company Theatre with whom he's co-written numerous plays including
Brilliant! The Blinding Enlightenment of Nikola Tesla, The Wake, The Score,
Flop, and The Fall. Recent works include Skydive (Realwheels) and Studies in
Motion (Electric Company). He received the Governor General's Award for Drama
in 2002 for his play Unity (1918) (Touchstone Theatre). His most recent work,
an adaptation of Pierre Berton's Secret World of Og premiered at Vancouver's
Carousel Theatre in April, and he's attending the Banff Playwrights' Colony
with Jonathon Young to collaborate on Electric Company's upcoming Tear the
Curtain! He is currently the Lee Playwright in Residence at the University of
Alberta, where he's working on Spine, a co-production between U of A and
Realwheels. He lives in Edmonton with the poet Marita Dachsel and their two

    Sue LePage has played a prominent role in Canadian theatre for more than
25 years. She has designed the premiere productions of plays by many of
Canada's most illustrious playwrights through her long association with
companies such as the Tarragon Theatre. She has also earned many design
credits for both the Stratford and Shaw Festivals as well as The National Arts
Centre, The Banff Centre, and regional theatres across the country.
    Most recently, she has designed the premieres of John Estacio and John
Murrell's operas Filumena and Frobisher, Ballet Jorgen Canada's Anastasia and
Group of Seven Nutcracker, and Mrs Warren's Profession, Getting Married, and
Saint Joan for the Shaw Festival.

    Mieko Ouchi is an Edmonton-based actor, writer, and director who works in
both theatre and film/TV. Her plays The Red Priest (Eight Ways To Say
Goodbye), The Blue Light and The Dada Play have been produced across the
country and have been short-listed for the 4 Play Series at The Old Vic in
London, the Governor General's Literary Award for Drama, and the City of
Edmonton Book Prize, winning the Canadian Authors Association Carol Bolt
Award. Her documentary, narrative and experimental films have played over 30
festivals and aired internationally, and she has been seen as Nori Sato on the
first two seasons of the new Global TV series The Guard. Mieko is a co-founder
and Artistic Co-Director of Concrete Theatre and is the inaugural Faith Broome
Playwright in Residence in 2009 at the University of Oklahoma.

For further information:

For further information: Media Contacts: Orli Namian, Toronto,
orli.namian@bmo.com, (416) 867-3996; Lucie Gosselin, Montréal,
lucie.gosselin@bmo.com, (514) 877-1101; Laurie Grant, Vancouver,
laurie.grant@bmo.com, (604) 665-7596; Internet: www.bmo.com

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890