Jurors Announced for $25,000 Kobzar Literary Award

TORONTO, Nov. 7, 2011 /CNW/ - The Board of Directors of the Ukrainian Canadian Foundation of Taras Shevchenko (Shevchenko Foundation) is pleased to announce the Kobzar 2012 Literary Award judging panel.  In alphabetical order:

Denise Chong, author/ researcher

Randall Maggs, poet/ educator

Nino Ricci,  author/ educator

M.G. Vassanji, author/ researcher

"The Board of Directors is proud and very pleased with the calibre of this judging panel," states Andrew Hladyshevsky, Q.C., President of the Shevchenko Foundation.  "These jurors are highly regarded in the literary world and with their diverse experience, brought new perspectives and variations to our understanding of Ukrainian Canadian theme development."

The Kobzar Literary Award was created to foster cultural development through the literary arts and create opportunities for all Canadian writers to explore Ukrainian Canadian themes.

The Kobzar 2012 Literary Award shortlisted finalists will be released on November 10, 2011 and the recipient will be announced at an award ceremony on Thursday, March 1, 2012 at Toronto's Palais Royale.

Presented every two years, the $25,000 Kobzar Literary Award recognizes a Canadian writer who best presents a Ukrainian Canadian theme with literary merit.

For more information, view:

SOURCE Kobzar Literary Awards

For further information:

Dr. C. Turkewych, Director of Literary Arts

Organization Profile

Kobzar Literary Awards

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890