Inukshuk Wireless announces the deployment of additional rural communities in Alberta, British Columbia and Ontario

    Inukshuk Wireless brings high-speed wireless access to more rural
    communities in Canada with the help of the Inukshuk Wireless Learning
    Plan Fund via an investment of more than $1.4million of network

    MONTREAL, Oct. 28 /CNW/ - Inukshuk Wireless is pleased to announce the
recent addition of several rural Canada areas to its national broadband
high-speed wireless network. These areas are located throughout Alberta,
British Columbia and Ontario and include the following communities: Balzac,
Oyama, Coalhurst, Sterling, Lundbreck, Dewdney, Deroche, Harrison Mills, as
well as several aboriginal communities: Peigan 147, Duck Lake 7, Mnjikaning
First Nation 32, Sarnia 45 and Six Nations 40.
    This additional deployment was made possible through funding provided by
the Inukshuk Wireless Learning Plan Fund. This funding is part of the Learning
Plan Fund's commitment to invest annually in the promotion of learning in each
of Inukshuk Wireless' ten licensed areas.
    The Learning Plan has been created to meet the needs for on-line learning
in three specific areas, known as the 3 'C's: Connectedness, Content and
Continuity. Connectivity is a key aspect of the Learning Plan Fund, which
highlights the Funds' commitment to bringing broadband wireless high-speed
Internet access to underserved and un-served communities.
    "The commitment by the Learning Plan Fund and its Advisory Committee
members to bring high speed broadband wireless access to rural Canada enables
us to help bridge the digital divide most significant in rural communities. We
are very pleased to be able to make a difference," said Don Falle, General
Manager of Inukshuk Wireless. "This deployment furthers the continuing success
of the Learning Plan, as it enables more learners living in unserved or
underserved communities of this country of ours to have access to broadband,
enabling them to tap into the endless possibilities of on-line learning".

    The communities are located in the following areas:


    -   Calgary area: Balzac

    -   Southern Alberta: Coalhurst, Lundbreck, Peigan 147 and Stirling

    British Columbia:

    -   Central Okanagan Regional District: Oyama and Duck Lake 7

    -   Fraser Valley Regional District: Deroche, Dewdney and Harrison Mills


    -   Simcoe County area: Mnjikaning First Nation 32

    -   Lambton County area: Sarnia 45

    -   Brant County area: Six Nations 40

    About Inukshuk Wireless

    Inukshuk Wireless is an equally owned partnership between Bell Canada and
Rogers Communications created to build and manage a Canada-wide wireless
broadband network licensed by Industry Canada. Inukshuk Wireless's network
footprint currently covers 45 cities and more than 120 un-served rural and
underserved communities across Canada. The network is designed to leverage
existing cellular towers of both Bell and Rogers, connecting customers to the
Internet and providing secure wireless data transmission over licenced
spectrum. The 10 licensed service areas (Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova
Scotia, Eastern Ontario and Outaouais, Prince Edward Island, New Brunswick,
Quebec, Ontario, Alberta, British Columbia, and the Yukon) cover approximately
30 million Canadians.

For further information:

For further information: For media inquiries, please contact: Matt Roth,
(416) 847-1305

Organization Profile


More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890