International Automakers Dominate AJAC and ecoENERGY Awards

    TORONTO, Feb. 11 /CNW/ - The member companies of the Association of
International Automobile Manufacturers of Canada (AIAMC) took home ecoENERGY
awards in an impressive 8 of 10 categories and also captured 3 of 4 Automobile
Journalists Association of Canada (AJAC) awards handed out today, including
the coveted "Canadian Car of the Year" for the Hyundai Genesis, at the 2009
Canadian International Autoshow.
    "AIAMC member companies have again been recognized for their commitment
to deliver leading edge technology vehicles to the Canadian marketplace," said
David Adams, President of AIAMC. "I congratulate each of our member companies
that have won awards today, it is a testament to their determination to ensure
Canadian consumers have access to the highest quality and most fuel efficient
vehicles," added Adams.
    The Canadian Car of the Year Award is handed out on an annual basis by
the Automobile Journalists Association of Canada (AJAC). Vehicles in a variety
of categories are tested and rated by journalists from across Canada. "Winning
the Canadian Car of the Year award with the Genesis is absolutely terrific
news," said Steve Kelleher, president and CEO, Hyundai Auto Canada Corp.
Mitsubishi Motor Sales of Canada Inc. won the AJAC award for "Best New
Technology" for its Super All Wheel Control system used on the Lancer
Evolution. "We are honoured to receive such a prestigious AJAC award, and the
consumer recognition that comes with it," commented Mr. Koji Soga, President
and CEO.
    Honda Canada Inc. won AJAC's "Best New Design" award for the new 2009
Honda Fit. "We thank the AJAC members for this design award," said Jerry
Chenkin, Executive Vice President of Honda Canada Inc. "We built the Fit to
meet the needs of our customers, and their response has been overwhelmingly
    The ecoENERGY awards are determined by Natural Resources Canada's Office
of Energy Efficiency and are awarded to vehicles in 10 different vehicle
    "Year after year AIAMC member companies lead the industry with their new
clean and green engine technologies and the ecoENERGY awards given today
recognize that leadership," Adams stated. "AIAMC is proud to represent so many
companies that have been given these prestigious awards today."
    "The ecoENERGY for Vehicles Awards presented today recognize the most
fuel-efficient cars and light trucks available right now in Canada. These
awards not only recognize the efforts of manufacturers, but they also provide
more information for customers who are considering their next vehicle
purchase," said the Honourable Lisa Raitt, Minister of Natural Resources
Canada. "I'd like to congratulate the members of the Association of
International Automobile Manufacturers of Canada for their strong showing in
this year's awards."
    The AIAMC members with winning vehicles in their ecoENGERGY categories
are listed below:

           Company                 Category              Winner
    Mercedes-Benz Canada Inc.     Two-Seater     smart for two
    BMW Group Canada              Subcompact     MINI Cooper/Cooper Clubman
    Toyota Canada Inc.            Subcompact     Toyota Yaris
    Honda Canada Inc.             Compact        Honda Civic
    Toyota Canada Inc.            Mid-Size       Toyota Prius
    Honda Canada Inc.             Full-Size      Honda Accord Sedan
    Hyundai Canada Corp.          Full-Size      Hyundai Sonata
    Volkswagen Canada Group Inc.  Station Wagon  Jetta Wagon TDI Clean Diesel
    Mazda Canada Inc.             Pickup Truck   Mazda B2300
    Mazda Canada Inc.             Minivan        Mazda 5

    The Association of International Automobile Manufacturers of Canada is
the national industry association representing the interests of fourteen
member companies engaged in the manufacture, importation, distribution and
servicing of light duty vehicles in Canada. AIAMC membership includes BMW
Canada Inc., Honda Canada Inc., Hyundai Auto Canada Corp., Jaguar Land Rover
Canada Inc.,Kia Canada Inc., Mazda Canada Inc., Mercedes-Benz Canada Inc.,
Mitsubishi Motor Sales of Canada, Inc., Nissan Canada Inc., Porsche Cars
Canada Ltd., Subaru Canada, Inc., Suzuki Canada Inc., Toyota Canada Inc., and
Volkswagen Group Canada Inc.

For further information:

For further information: David C. Adams, President, Association of
International Automobile Manufacturers of Canada, Office: (416) 595-8251 x22,
Cell: (416) 333-2873,

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890