Hundreds of leaders come together to develop economic action plan at May 7th Summit

    Representatives from business, institutions, labour, financial
    services and all three levels of government to facilitate revival of the
    Greater Toronto Region

    TORONTO, May 4 /CNW/ -

    What:     For the first time ever, regional leaders from many sectors and
              municipalities in the Greater Toronto Region (GTR) will work
              together to create an action plan to lift the GTR out of the
              greatest economic crisis since the 1940s.

              Delegates participating in the day-long Greater Toronto Region
              Economic Summit will focus on four specific areas:

                    1. Enhancing our financial services sector
                    2. Restructuring our manufacturing base
                    3. Building a human capital advantage
                    4. Promoting research, innovation and creativity

              The goal of the Summit is to produce a list of priorities and
              recommended actions for governments, business and institutions
              to be implemented within the next six to 18 months.

              Recent research (conducted by NANOS RESEARCH) will also be
              released at the Summit and will provide insight into public
              opinions on how to plot a course through the current economic
              crisis. Among other topics, the poll examined the public
              perception of the role of government, private sector and unions
              in fighting the downturn.

    Why:      The Greater Toronto Region is the economic engine of Ontario.
              Toronto and its surrounding municipalities have been hit hard
              by the current economic situation. There is an urgent need for
              the region to be united and work together to implement
              solutions that will ensure Ontario's future prosperity.

    Who:      Hon. Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance, Minister Responsible
              for the GTA, Government of Canada
              Hon. Michael Bryant, Minister of Economic Development,
              Government of Ontario
              Mike Wallace, MP (Burlington), Chair, GTA Caucus
              Mayor David Miller, City of Toronto
              Mayor Hazel McCallion, City of Mississauga
              John Honderich, Chair, Torstar Voting Trust
              Nik Nanos, President and CEO, NANOS RESEARCH

              (An addendum with agenda and full list of speakers is

    When:     Thursday, May 7, 2009 - 8:00am - 5:00pm
    Where:    Seneca College, Allstate Parkway, Markham, Ontario

    (xx) Please note that media accreditation will be in effect. Please
         contact Emma Jowett at to register.

                          ADDENDUM - MEDIA ADVISORY

                               SUMMIT PROGRAM

    TIME                 ACTIVITY
    7:30 a.m.            Registration and Breakfast
    8:00 a.m.            Welcome from Summit Co-Chairs
                         Mayor Hazel McCallion and John Honderich
    8:10 a.m.            Public Opinion and Toronto's Regional Economy
                         Nik Nanos, Nanos Research
    8:30 a.m.            Remarks from the Government of Canada
                         Mike Wallace, MP (Burlington); Chair, GTA Caucus
    9 a.m. - 11:45 a.m.  Finance  Manufacturing  Human Capital  Research and
                         Panel    and Industry   Panel          Innovation
                                  Panel                         Panel
                         10:30a.m.    Morning Coffee Break
    12:00 p.m.           Address by Hon. Michael Bryant, MPP
                         Ontario's Minister of Economic Development and Trade
    12:15 p.m.           Lunch
    1:00 p.m.            Address by David Miller
                         Mayor of Toronto
    1:30 - 3:45 p.m.     Finance  Manufacturing  Human Capital  Research and
                         Panel    and Industry   Panel          Innovation
                                  Panel                         Panel

    4:00 p.m.            Reception and Panel Summary Report
                         Ian Smith, Partner, Oliver Wyman
    4:30 p.m.            The Government of Canada and the Greater Toronto
                         Hon. Jim Flaherty, Minister of Finance and Minister
                         Responsible for the GTA, Government of Canada
    4:45 p.m.           Summit Wrap-up
                        Mayor Hazel McCallion and John Honderich

                               LEADERS INVOLVED
    Summit Chairs

    -   Mayor Hazel McCallion, City of Mississauga and Co-Chair, Greater
        Toronto Region Economic Summit
    -   John Honderich, Chair, Torstar Voting Trust and Co-Chair, Greater
        Toronto Region Economic Summit

    Co-Chair Committee

    -   John Cartwright, President, Toronto and York Region Labour Council
    -   Len Crispino, President and CEO of the Ontario Chamber of Commerce
    -   Steven Del Duca, Director, Public Affairs, The Carpenters' Union
    -   Janet Ecker, President, Toronto Financial Services Alliance
    -   Janet Holder, President, Enbridge Gas Distribution
    -   Frances Lankin, President and CEO, United Way Toronto
    -   Dr. Rick Miner, President of Seneca College
    -   David O'Brien, President and CEO, Toronto Hydro
    -   Kyle Rae, Toronto City Councillor
    -   Phil Rubinoff, Chair, Residential & Civil Construction Alliance of
        Ontario (RCCAO)
    -   Jennifer Tory, Regional President, Greater Toronto Region, RBC Royal
    -   Carol Wilding, President and CEO, Toronto Board of Trade

    Advisory Committee

    -   Joe Berridge, Urban Strategies
    -   Curry Clifford, Region of Peel
    -   Ron Dembo, Zerofootprint
    -   John Davidson, Region of Halton
    -   Danielle Francis, Toronto Police Service
    -   Shirley Hoy, Toronto Lands Corporation
    -   Doug Lindeblom, Region of Durham
    -   Andy Manahan, RCCAO
    -   Patricia McCarney, University of Toronto
    -   Ratna Omidvar, Maytree Foundation
    -   David Pecaut, Chair, Toronto City Summit Alliance
    -   Enid Slack, University of Toronto
    -   Connie Woo, CAA South Central Ontario

    Senior Officials in Attendance

    -   Mr. Tom Adams, Regional & Local Councillor, Town of Oakville
    -   Mr. David Cash, Chief Administrative Officer, Town of Whitchurch-
    -   Mr. Stephen Chait, Director, Economic Development, Town of Markham
    -   Mayor Linda Jackson, City of Vaughan
    -   Mr. Christopher Kallio, Economic Development Officer, Town of
    -   Ms. Shirley Kam, Manager of Economic Development, City of Vaughn
    -   Ms. Brenda Osler, Coordinator, Economic Development Programs, Town of
        Richmond Hill
    -   Mayor Steve Parish, Town of Ajax
    -   Mayor Marilyn Pearce, Township of Scugog
    -   Mr. Larry Petovello, Director, Economic Development, City of
    -   Mayor Frank Scarpitti, Town of Markham
    -   Mr. Vito Spatafona, Councillor, Town of Richmond Hill
    -   Ms. Karen Stintz, Toronto City Councillor, Ward 16
    -   Mr. Paul Ungerman, Senior Policy Advisor, Minister's Office, Ministry
        of Municipal Affairs and Housing

For further information:

For further information: or media accreditation, please contact: Emma
Jowett, Counsel Public Relations, Tel: (416) 961-5898 x 217,

Organization Profile


More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890