Honouring Excellence in Corporate Governance - The Institute of Corporate Directors names 2009 Fellowship Award Recipients

    TORONTO, Jan. 13 /CNW/ - The Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD) is
pleased to announce the following four Canadian business leaders as recipients
of the 2009 ICD Fellowship Awards: Douglas D. Baldwin, B.Sc, LL.D, Chairman,
Talisman Energy Inc. (Calgary, AB); Robert Després, OC, GOQ, M.Sc, FCMA,
Chairman Cominar (Quebec, QC); Dallas J. Howe, MA, Chair, Potash Corporation
of Saskatchewan Inc. (Saskatoon, SK); and Eileen Mercier, MA, MBA, Board
Chair, Ontario Teacher's Pension Plan (Toronto, ON).
    The ICD confers Fellowship Awards annually to a prominent group of
individuals who continually distinguish themselves by bringing exceptional
corporate governance leadership to boardrooms throughout the country.
    "ICD Fellows are role models for excellence in governance," said ICD
Fellowship Selection Committee Chair William (Bill) Dimma. "At a time when we
need more leadership, oversight and corporate wisdom, the Institute of
Corporate Directors is delighted to recognize the significant accomplishments
of these four outstanding Canadian Directors."
    The 12th Annual ICD Fellowship Awards will be presented during a gala
celebration on Thursday, June 4, 2009 at the Fairmont Royal York Hotel
(Toronto). Tickets for the event can be purchased by calling the ICD at
1-877-593-7741, or online at www.icd.ca
    The 2009 Fellows were each nominated by peers and chosen by an
independent selection committee. The committee considered a number of
attributes such as: leadership, accountability to stakeholders, contributions
to governance, and knowledge of the business. The caliber of contributions
away from the boardroom table, such as published material, speaking
engagements and philanthropic endeavors, were also considered.
    Previous ICD Fellowship inductees include: William (Bill) Dimma, Chairman
Emeritus, Home Capital Group; Donna Soble Kaufman, Director, BCE; Purdy
Crawford, Corporate Director; and Guylaine Saucier, Corporate Director.
    For more information about the 2009 ICD Fellowship Awards or the
Institute of Corporate Directors, please contact Whelena Sainsbury at (416)
593-7741 ext. 244 or wsainsbury@icd.ca.

    About the Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD)

    The Institute of Corporate Directors is a Not-For-Profit organization
dedicated to promoting improved corporate governance. The ICD is the only
membership association in Canada, solely representing the profession of
Directors, ensuring they are well-prepared to deal with their responsibilities
and remain current on best practices. The ICD provides education,
accreditation, publishing and support services to boards, Directors, aspiring
Directors and organizations.
    The ICD represents Canada, as one of seven nations in the Global Director
Development Circle, an international governance initiative focused on the
development needs of Directors and Boards.

    About the ICD Fellowship Selection Committee

    The 2009 ICD Fellowship Selection Committee was chaired by William (Bill)
Dimma, himself an ICD Fellow (1999) and included other ICD Fellows and ICD
Board members. Those included: Brian MacNeill (2005); and from the ICD Board
of Directors: Mary Mogford (2002), Robert Parizeau (2006), Victor Young
(2007), and Elizabeth Watson.

    Better Directors. Better Boards. Better Business.

For further information:

For further information: Gabe Meranda, Director, Communications & Member
Services, (416) 593-7741, ext. 237

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890