Honouring Canada's Best in Independent Production

    OTTAWA, Feb. 18 /CNW Telbec/ - The Canadian Film and Television
Production Association (CFTPA) today announced the winners of the 2009 Indie
Awards at a special reception in Ottawa, hosted by Cathy Jones from This Hour
has 22 Minutes.
    This second annual celebration of Canadian independent producers
recognizes outstanding Canadian producer achievement in eleven categories of
the film, television and interactive media industry. The winners accepted
their awards in front of more than 600 industry colleagues and guests at the
Westin Hotel. The winners are:

    Best Children's and Youth Programme or Series, Busytown Mysteries,
    Cookie Jar Entertainment

    Best Comedy Programme or Series, This Hour Has 22 Minutes, Halifax Film,
    a DHX Media Company

    Best Convergent New Media, Anash Interactive, Reel Girls Media Inc.

    Best Documentary Programme, Passage, PTV Productions Inc., John Walker
    Films, National Film Board of Canada

    Best Documentary Series, Landscape as Muse, 291 Film Company Inc.

    Best Feature Film, It's Not Me, I Swear, micro_scope

    Best Lifestyle or Reality Programme or Series, Til Debt Do Us Part,
    Frantic Films

    Best Mini-Series, Les Lavigueur, la vrai histoire, Locomotion Films

    Best Prime Time Drama Series, Intelligence- Season 2, Haddock
    Entertainment, Watcher Films (II) Inc.

    Best TV Movie, Mayerthorpe, Seven24 Films, Slanted Wheel Entertainment

    Jury's Choice Award, The Englishman's Boy, Minds Eye Entertainment

    "The CFTPA Indie awards celebrate the hard work of our independent
producers," says Guy Mayson, President and CEO, CFTPA. "Canadian producers
create dynamic, entertaining, and award-winning film, television and digital
content that is watched by millions of viewers around the globe."
    The awards ceremony was the launch event for the CFTPA's Prime Time in
Ottawa - a must-attend industry event with over 600 delegates from all regions
of the country. Sold-out each year, Prime Time in Ottawa plays host a broad
cross-section of the production industry, as well as broadcasters,
distributors, exhibitors, cable and satellite providers, government officials
and the national media. The 2009 CFTPA Indie Award winners were selected by a
national jury of industry professionals from more than 160 entries.

    The Canadian Film and Television Production Association is a non-profit
trade organization that works on behalf of almost 400 companies engaged in the
production and distribution of English-language television programs, feature
films, and interactive media products in all regions of Canada. More
specifically, it promotes the general interests of its members provincially,
federally, and internationally; negotiates and manages labour agreements with
guilds and unions; administers copyright collectives; trains new industry
entrants through 7 national internship programs; and undertakes a number of
other specific initiatives that help increase awareness and enhance
communication within the Canadian and international production communities.

For further information:

For further information: Anne Trueman, Director of Communications and
Media, CFTPA, (613) 233-1444 x 227, C: (613) 851-4538, anne.trueman@cftpa.ca

Organization Profile


More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890