Heritage's National Excellence Awards for Teachers: a NEAT Way to Recognize Our Top Teachers

    TORONTO, Oct. 1 /CNW/ - Heritage Education Funds Inc. and the Heritage
Educational Foundation are pleased to announce the names of this year's
recipients of the National Excellence Awards for Teachers (NEAT). The NEAT
awards honour teachers who have made a positive impact on their students'
lives, inspiring a love for learning and helping their students to reach their
full potential. The awards will be presented at the winners' school locations
across the country.
    "Teachers plant the seeds of knowledge, cultivate a love of learning and
help our children get ready to take on the challenges of the world," says
Scott McIndless, Chairman and Director of Heritage Educational Foundation.
"While we thank them for their hard work, this year's honourees consider it a
privilege to teach."

    The 2008 NEAT award winners are chosen from five regions:

    -   British Columbia, Yukon,      Teresa Lachowski, Kindergarten
        Northwest Territories &       Weledeh Catholic School, Yellowknife,
        Nunavut                       NWT

    -   Alberta, Saskatchewan &       Lucille Charrios, Grade 4/Principal
        Manitoba                      St. Benedict School/Good Shepherd
                                      School, Edmonton, AB

    -   Ontario                       Debbie VanEgmond, Grade 3
                                      Jon Calvin Christian School, Guelph, ON

    -   Quebec                        Romolo Finelli, K-6
                                      Merton School, Cote St. Luc

    -   The Atlantic Provinces        Cherry Harbin, Grade 6
                                      St. Peter's Academy, Cornerbrook, NFLD

    "We believe education is the key to children's future success," says
Robert Coleman, President of Heritage Education Funds Inc. "We received over
70 nominations from across Canada this year. Each entry was a unique story of
how the teacher works to motivate and challenge, and gives their time
selflessly and demonstrates dedication. We are proud to acknowledge these five
extraordinary Canadian teachers who put their students first and have a
passion for education in the Junior Kindergarten to Grade Six years."

    About the Heritage Educational Foundation and Heritage Education Funds

    The Heritage Educational Foundation is one of Canada's leading providers
of pooled RESPs (Registered Education Savings Plans). Incorporated on
December 1, 1986, the Foundation is a non-profit corporation without share
capital incorporated under the Canada Corporations Act. The Foundation's
objective is to encourage parents, grandparents or other interested persons to
save for their children's advanced education through a planned savings
program. Each year, the NEAT awards acknowledge individual teachers who have
introduced innovative methods of teaching and learning. By stretching the
horizons and raising the expectations of their students, they make a real
difference in the lives of our country's children.

For further information:

For further information: Marjorie Cullen, Senior Marketing Manager,
Heritage Education Funds Inc., Tel.: (416) 578-6494, Email:
Marjorie.cullen@heritagefunds.ca, www.HeritageRESP.com

Organization Profile

Heritage Education Funds Inc.

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890