Grand Erie Teacher Wins ETFO's Occasional Teacher Award

    TORONTO, Aug. 14 /CNW/ - The Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario
(ETFO) presented Grand Erie occasional teacher Diane Persall with the
Occasional Teacher of the Year Award at its annual meeting in Toronto today.
    The award is the highest form of recognition presented to an occasional
teacher by the federation.
    "Diane has been an educator for forty years and is a much-valued member
of the school community," said ETFO President Emily Noble. "She is widely
respected for her classroom management skills and her strong work ethic and is
much in demand within the board.
    "Diane is also a valued leader within her union. She helped to organize
the Norfolk County Elementary Occasional Teachers back when many thought
occasional teachers could never be unionized. She was active on the executive
of the Grand Erie Occasional Teacher Local, serving as collective bargaining
chair, the health and safety representative, and a member of the liaison
    "Passionate professional, dedicated unionist, caring community member,
Diane is an inspiration to us all," Noble said.

    The Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario represents more than
70,000 public elementary school teachers and education workers across Ontario
and is the largest teacher federation in Canada.

For further information:

For further information: Larry Skory, (416) 948-0195 (cell),; Johanna Brand, (416) 948-2554 (cell),; Mary
Morison, (416) 948-3406 (cell),; August 13-16, ETFO Media
Centre, Queens Quay 1, Concourse Level, The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto,
Phone: (416) 957-7181, Fax: (416) 957-7180

Organization Profile

Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890