Good Clinical Practice Journal Awards: Winners Announced

    LONDON, Sept. 7 /CNW/ - Clinical research professionals from all over the
world gathered at the Gibson Hall in London last night for the inaugural Good
Clinical Practice Journal (GCPj) Awards. Opening this landmark event, Chairman
of the Commission on Human Medicines Professor Sir Gordon Duff said the awards
were a most important celebration of innovation and enterprise in the
development of new medicines. "I hope it will become a traditional event in
the public health calendar," he told the 200+ audience.
    The host for the evening, Dr Phil Hammond, a GP, writer, broadcaster and
comedian, mixed laughter - "the best form of medicine according to the ho ho
ho holistic humour institute!" with more serious issues. He bemoaned the poor
headlines in the press relating to the pharmaceutical industry, clinical
trials and the NHS and stressed the need for an awards programme like the GCPj
Awards to highlight the achievements of clinical research.
    GCPj editor Jenine Willis said "These awards are GCPj's chance to show
industry's commitment to improving healthcare through innovative, high
quality, rigorous clinical research. Better healthcare not only benefits
society as a whole, it has a direct impact on the global economy and raising
quality of life everywhere. Of course this is a serious business, but GCPj
launched these awards to celebrate these achievements and tell the wider world
about them too."
    Individuals, teams and organisations were recognised by the 11 awards
categories. The first company to receive an accolade was Pfizer who won the
Most Successful Global Trial, which was sponsored by the global clinical
research organisation (CRO) Kendle. The trial in question recruited renal
cancer patients at 101 sites in 11 countries.
    Accepting the award, Deborah Roberts from Pfizer UK Oncology said "It's
an honour and a privilege to accept this award on behalf of all of the Pfizer
team who have worked to develop Sutent and have through this made a
significant difference to the lives of thousands of renal cancer patients and
their families. The main thing for me after working for 11 years in oncology
is to have patients ringing up to say thank you."
    Another notable winner was South Africa's Aurum Institute for Health
Research. It picked up the Most Innovative Patient Recruitment Strategy award
for the Thibela TB Study, which used innovative communication techniques to
enrol over 38,000 miners to the study. Dr Audrey Banyni, of the Mine Health
and Safety Council in South Africa, said: "I am more than happy. In fact,
ecstatic. It is a challenging trial because we are involving different mining
organisations. The participants are from very different cultural backgrounds,
including Zulus and people from Mozambique. We also have the involvement of
the labour movement. So it is actually a great achievement for Aurum."0
    One of the key individual awards of the evening was the Clinical Research
Professional of the Year, which was sponsored by the UK Institute of Clinical
Research. The winner, Dr Richard Schulz from the CRO Chiltern International in
the Czech Republic was praised for being a role model to both CRO and site
staff, inspiring them to achieve outstanding result, particularly in an
emerging region.
    The Clinical Research Team of the Year was sponsored by global CRO i3,
and the award was presented to Novartis Pharma's Aclasta/Reclast Horizon RFT
Team. Accepting the award on behalf of their colleagues Dr Erik Eriksen and Dr
Phil McKernan explained their team "...spread across the Atlantic, half of
them were in the US and half were in Basel. So there was a lot time
challenges. But the main challenge was that the trial was outsourced to a
great extent and to co-ordinate that effort was a testimony to the teams on
both sides of the Atlantic. And it has resulted in rapid approval by both the
FDA and the CHMP."
    The Clinical Research Programme which Best Promoted Access to Medicine
was awarded to MDS Pharma Services. The judges called the Phase III Malaria
Trial of Eurartekin "an excellent example of a public/private collaboration to
find effective and affordable treatments for a widespread debilitating
condition prevalent in many developing countries." In response, Dr James Pusey
from MDS Pharma Services said "the trial is a major step forward in helping to
treat and prevent a terrible disease in under developed countries. We are very
proud to be part of the team that made this happen."
    As the evening drew to a close Saul Shiffman collected the GCPj Lifetime
Achievement Award for his work in developing patient-reported outcome measures
and e-diaries for clinical research.
    More details of the event, together with pictures and winners' responses,
will be published in a special supplement, "The GCPj Awards 2007", in October.
Photos are also available on request.

    The Winners and Sponsors

    Most Successful Global Trial
    Sponsored by Kendle
    Winner - A Phase III, randomized study of SU011248 versus interferon-alfa
    as first-line systemic therapy for patients with metastatic renal cell
    carcinoma - Pfizer Global Research and Development

    Most Successful Company or Programme of the Year in Raising GCP Standards
    Sponsored by Trial Trove
    Winner - Good Clinical Data Management Practices Document - Society for
    Clinical Data Management

    Best Technological Development in Clinical Trial Management Systems
    Sponsored by PAREXEL
    Winner - ClinPhone Drug Accountability solution - ClinPhone

    Best Technological Development in Planning and Educational Tools in
    Clinical Trials
    Sponsored by PAREXEL
    Winner - SecureConsent - Consent Solutions Inc

    Project Manager of the Year
    Sponsored by MDS Pharma Services
    Winner - Shemus Dore, Senior Data Management Project Manager, ICON

    Most Innovative Patient Recruitment Strategy
    Sponsored by Pharmaprojects
    Winner - Thibela TB Study - Aurum Institute for Health Research

    Academic Researcher of the Year
    Sponsored by Institute of Clinical Research (India) and Cranfield
    Winner - Professor Neil Marlow, Professor of Neonatal Medicine, Academic
    Division of Child Health, Queen's Medical Centre, Nottingham; and
    Honorary Consultant Paediatrician, Queen's Medical Centre, Nottingham
    University Hospitals NHS Trust, UK

    Clinical Research Professional of the Year
    Sponsored by the Institute of Clinical Research
    Winner - Dr Richard Schulz, Country Manager Czech Republic, Chiltern

    Clinical Research Team of the Year
    Sponsored by i3
    Winner - Aclasta/Reclast Horizon RFT Team - Novartis Pharma AG

    Clinical Research Programme that Best Promoted Access to Medicine
    Sponsored by Partnerships in Clinical Trials 2007
    Winner - Large-scale Phase III Malaria Trial of Eurartekin - MDS Pharma

    GCPj Lifetime Achievement Award
    Winner - Dr Saul Shiffman

    Good Clinical Practice Journal (GCPj) is the monthly, subscription
magazine chosen by dedicated research professionals. It aids awareness,
interpretation and implementation of the regulations that affect global
clinical trials. GCPj helps bring drugs to market faster through commitment to
excellence in all aspects of clinical research. Request a free trial at

For further information:

For further information: Peter Rixon, Special Projects Editor, Tel:
+44-(0)20-7017-6948, Email:

Organization Profile


More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890