Five medical laureates honoured at Hall of Fame's 10th Induction Ceremony

    LONDON, ON, Oct. 1 /CNW Telbec/ - Five new medical heroes will be
inducted into The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame on Tuesday, October 2 at the
Hilton in London, Ontario. From this day forward, the remarkable stories of
these exceptional individuals will be told in the Hall's portrait gallery
located in downtown London.

    The 2007 inductees are:
    Dr. Elizabeth Bagshaw (1881-1982): Once considered a 'devil', now
    recognized as a pioneer (Represented by her grandson, Mr. David Bagshaw
    from Hamilton, Ontario)

    Félix d'Hérelle (1873-1949): A vagabond scholar credited for a scientific
    revolution (Represented by his great-grandson, Dr. Hubert Mazure, from

    Dr. Jean Dussault (1941-2003): A humble man with a monumental legacy
    (Represented by his teacher and mentor, Dr. Claude Laberge, from Quebec)

    Senator Dr. Wilbert Keon (Born in 1935): World-revered cardiac surgeon
    and visionary

    Dr. Endel Tulving (Born in 1927): No single cognitive scientist can be

    "I cannot possibly imagine a greater honour for a doctor than to be
selected by his peers for entry into The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame. I am
humbled but enormously grateful to have my name listed among others like
Banting, Best, Siminovitch and Friesen who spent their lives making the world
a much better place through the instrument of medicine," says 2007 inductee
Dr. Wilbert Keon, founder of the internationally-recognized Ottawa Heart
    Over 500 attendees from Canada's biomedical and health care industries,
along with dignitaries and academic leaders, will join together to share their
pride and confidence in our country's capabilities to address some of the
world's most pressing health care concerns.
    "The seventy-one Hall of Fame laureates are testimony that Canada is home
to some of the world's greatest scientific discoverers and most compassionate
health care providers. Their stories are certain to inspire, whether as a
reflection of past accomplishments or an opportunity to open new windows of
discovery," says Dr. Ramsay Gunton, co-chair of the 2007 induction committee
along with the Honourable Minister Tony Clement.
    The inductees will be presented with the Ivey award, first introduced in
2004 and named in honour of former London's Beryl and Richard Ivey, founding
supporters of the Hall.
    The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame gratefully acknowledges its platinum
sponsors, CN and the Canadian Medical Association, as well as numerous other
supporters who have contributed to the success of this prestigious event.

    The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame is the only national organization
dedicated to recognizing the accomplishments of Canada's medical heroes.
Through its exhibit hall and a national educational program, thousands of
Canadians gain a greater appreciation of our country's contribution to the
global medical community, and more young people pursue careers in the health

    Media are invited for interviews and photos as follows:

    Tuesday, October 2
    4:30 - 6:00 pm
    Hilton London (2nd Floor)

    Biographies and portraits of the 2007 inductees are available on The
Canadian Medical Hall of Fame website at

For further information:

For further information: Janet Tufts, Executive Director, (519)
488-2003, Cell: (519) 630-1490,

Organization Profile

The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890