First-Ever "Maggie" Awards shine spotlight on Manitoba's Magazine Industry

    WINNIPEG, May 8 /CNW/ - Manitoba's magazine industry honored its best
tonight at the Inaugural Manitoba Magazine Awards held at the Fairmont Hotel
as part of the Association's annual Magazines Weekend Conference.
    CBC personalities Alex Freedman and Sean Cavanaugh were hosts for the
evening. Glenn Tinley of Studio Publications sponsored the event and provided
live webcasting of the ceremonies at
    The Beaver, Canada's History Magazine and Manitoba's oldest magazine,
published in the province since 1920 took home the top honour of Magazine of
the Year. The other finalists in the Category were Say and Prairie Fire.
    Indeed The Beaver had an extraordinary year, publishing for the first
time in French with its Quebec 400th Anniversary Special Issue; clinching a
book deal based on their summer issue featuring the 10 Photos That Changed
Canada, and posting record-breaking newsstand sales for every issue throughout
the calendar year.

    Other award winners included:

    Best Initiative (recognizing ancillary activities that build the
    magazine's brand)

            Winnipeg Men for "Test Drive"

    Most Innovative Marketing Initiative (recognizing achievement and
    creativity in marketing and promotion of a magazine)

           Kayak: Canada's History Magazine for Kids

    Most Effective Web Activity (for a website, online event, contest, or
    social networking initiative)


    Most Effective Use of Words

          Prairie Fire for "Animalia"

    Best Regular Column or Feature

          The Beaver for Chris Moore's column

    Best Editorial Package

          The Beaver for "The Boy in the Picture"

    Best Cover

          Prairie Fire for "Atwood"

    Manitoba Magazines also launched a new award program for Red River
Community College students in the Creative Communications program. Students
work on a magazine concept over several weeks developing a business plan as
well as a prototype for a new magazine. The Association will contribute $1500
annually in prizing for the top student projects.

    This year's student award recipients were:

    Bonnie Seidel; Gina Nasuti; Emily Baron Cardloff;
    Sean Ledwich for Packrat: A Backpacking Magazine

    Finalists were:

    Rachel Hawryluk; Shayna Wiweirski; Erica Zawadowski; Matt Prepost;
    Thor Blondal for Quarkz: a magazine about quirky people and things

    Mitchell Clinton; Melanie Fatouros; Rheanne Marcoux; Kalen Qually for
    Sugarthread: a magazine about candy

    /NOTE TO PHOTO EDITORS: A photo accompanying this release is available on
    the CNW Photo Network and archived at
    Additional archived images are also available on the CNW Photo Archive
    website at Images are free to accredited
    members of the media/

For further information:

For further information: Betty Ann Watts, Executive Director, (204)

Organization Profile


More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890