Finalists named for B.C.'s Annual Journalism Awards

    VANCOUVER, Sept. 8 /CNW/ - A selection of B.C.'s best journalists have
been named as finalists for the 2009 Jack Webster Awards. Winners will be
announced at the 23rd annual Jack Webster Awards dinner on October 20th at the
Westin Bayshore.
    CTV's Olympic broadcaster Brian Williams is the guest speaker at the
awards dinner and Chris Gailus takes on hosting duties. The 2009 Bruce
Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to veteran broadcaster
Bill Good.


    Best News Reporting of the Year - Print
    -   Kim Bolan, The Vancouver Sun: Gang Crisis in Metro Vancouver
    -   Lindsay Kines, Judith Lavoie, Times Colonist: Native Housing Crisis
    -   Gary Mason, The Globe and Mail: The Olympic Village Scandal

    Best News Reporting of the Year - Radio
    -   Bob Keating, CBC Radio Nelson: Bladerunner
    -   Steve Lus, Paisley Woodward, Jennifer Leask, CBC Radio Vancouver:
        Reality Check
    -   Curt Petrovich, CBC Radio: Dirty Questions

    Best News Reporting of the Year - Television
    -   CHBC News: Rock Slide
    -   Lisa Rossington, Jon Woodward, Julia Foy, Kent Molgat, CTV British
        Columbia: Gang War
    -   Kathy Tomlinson, Enza Uda, Eric Rankin, Paisley Woodward, CBC News
        Vancouver at Six: Prescription for Profit

    Best Feature Story - Print
    -   Louise Dickson, Times Colonist: Anatomy of a Murder
    -   Denise Ryan, The Vancouver Sun: The Return of a Warrior
    -   Douglas Todd, The Vancouver Sun: From the Ashes

    Best Feature Story - Radio
    -   Robert Doane, Betsy Trumpener, CBC Radio One-Northern BC: Last Call -
        Fetal Alcohol
    -   Curt Petrovich, CBC National Radio: Rowing for Redemption
    -   Tim Wohlberg, CKNW 980AM: No Scalpel, No Needle, No Children

    Best Feature Story - Television
    -   Priya Mann, Kent Simmonds, CFJC TV Kamloops: Remembering Afghanistan
    -   Elaine Yong, Global BC: Beyond the Great Wall
    -   Frédéric Zalac, Alex Shprintsen, CBC Radio - Canada: The Taser Test/
        Taser: Essai Choc

    Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Online Journalism
    -   David Beers, The Tyee: 2009 BC Provincial Election Issue Coverage
    -   CBC News Vancouver: BC Votes 2009
    -   Chad Skelton, The Vancouver Sun: Parking Tickets

    Jack Webster Business, Industry & Economics Award
    Endowed by Jean Cormier
    -   Joan Chang, Rick Cluff, Laura Palmer, CBC Radio: Going for Broke
    -   Shannon Paterson, CTV British Columbia: Condo Crash
    -   Cheryl Rossi, The Vancouver Courier: Final Cut

    Best Reporting - Chinese Language
    -   Claudia Lau, Winnie Hwo, Fairchild TV: Sin City North - M26
    -   Travena Lee, Fairchild Radio: Child Protection and Foster Care
    -   Lisa Wu, Richard Tang, Guo Ding, Channel M/Omni BC: Chinese Heritage

    Jack Webster Award for Community Reporting:
    -   Monte Paulsen, The Tyee: A Home for All
    -   Tim Petruk, Kamloops This Week: Targeting Teens within Seconds
    -   Hannah Sutherland, Peace Arch News: A Stolen Past

    Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Legal Journalism
    Sponsored by the Law Society of BC
    -   Fabian Dawson, Ethan Baron, The Province: Meeting Mr. Big
    -   Peter McKnight, The Vancouver Sun: Governing Through Crime
    -   Jon Woodward, Stephen Smart, Ken Molgat, Jim Beatty, CTV British
        Columbia: Farmland for Sale - The John Les Investigation

    Jack Webster Award for Science and Technology
    -   Peter Grainger, CTV British Columbia: Taser Science
    -   Larry Pynn, The Vancouver Sun: Shifting Seas
    -   Elaine Yong, Sergio Magro, Monty Burt, Global BC: Lifestyle Challenge

    Commentator of the Year
        Presented in memory of Linda Webster
        Winner will be announced at the Jack Webster Awards Dinner

    Tickets for the Oct. 20 awards dinner at The Westin Bayshore can be
ordered by calling 604-261-6184, by emailing or by
visiting and following the dinner ticket link. Tickets are
$150 per person or $1,500 for a table of 10. A portion of the dinner ticket
price is tax deductible.

    The Jack Webster Foundation, named after the late broadcaster who was
Western Canada's best known and most influential reporter, was established in
1986 to recognize excellence in British Columbia journalism. The work of the
Foundation is made possible by the generous sponsorship of BCLC, Bell, CGA
Association, CN, Labatt Breweries, HSBC Bank Canada, Terasen Gas, Port Metro
Vancouver and Worksafe BC.

For further information:

For further information: Jack Webster Foundation, Tel. (604) 261-6184,
Email:, Website:

Organization Profile

Jack Webster Foundation

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890