Finalists named for B.C.'s Annual Journalism Awards

    VANCOUVER, Sept. 5 /CNW/ - A selection of B.C.'s best journalists have
been named as finalists for the 2007 Jack Webster Awards. Winners will be
announced at the 21st annual Jack Webster Awards dinner on Oct. 22 at the
Vancouver Convention and Exhibition Centre in Vancouver.
    The dinner and award presentations will be emceed by Rick Cluff, host of
CBC's Early Edition. CKNW talk show host Christy Clark is the guest speaker at
the dinner, which will see the 2007 Bruce Hutchison Lifetime Achievement Award
presented to Jim Harrison, News Director of Kamloop's CHNL Radio.


    Best News Reporting of the Year - Print

    -   Lori Culbert, Neal Hall and Janet Steffenhagen, The Vancouver Sun:
        Former Teacher Faces Sex Charges
    -   Chad Skelton, The Vancouver Sun: Gambling in B.C.
    -   Kim Bolan, The Vancouver Sun: The Murder of Manjit Panghali

    Best News Reporting of the Year - Radio

    -   Mark Forsythe, Susan McNamee, Theresa Duvall, Brett Ballah, Renee
        Filippone, Marcie Gray and Betsy Trumpener, CBC Radio: BC Place Dome
    -   Meera Bains, Jeff Davies and Paisley Woodward, CBC Radio AM690:
        Fraser Valley Van Crash: The Safety of BC's Farmworkers
    -   Kelly Ryan and Paisley Woodward, CBC Radio One: The Fight for Frank

    Best News Reporting of the Year - Television

    -   Jim Beatty, CTV British Columbia: Filthy Foster Home
    -   Elaine Yong, Global BC: Home Inspector Series
    -   Tony Parsons, Randene Neill, John Daly, Ted Chernecki, Chris Gailus,
        Anne Drewa, Rob Bencze, Ted Field, Keith Baldrey and Grace Ke,
        Global BC: Storm Coverage

    Best Feature Story - Print

    -   Gerry Bellett, The Vancouver Sun: Death by Graduation
    -   Pete McMartin and Glenn Baglo, The Vancouver Sun: Faces of Autism
    -   Jonathan McDonald, Peter Clough, Cristina Montgomery, Matthew Ramsey
        and Ginger Sedlarova, The Province: Under the Gun

    Best Feature Story - Radio

    -   Curt Petrovich and Yvonne Gall, CBC Radio: Children of the Missing
    -   Betsy Trumpener, CBC Radio: The Coffin Carver
    -   Yvonne Gall, Salma Nurmohamed, Duncan McCue, Kathryn Gretsinger,
        Pamela Post and Margaret Gallagher, CBC Radio Vancouver: Sacred

    Best Feature Story - Television

    -   Erica Johnson, Litsa Sourtzis and Stephanie Kampf, CBC TV: Dirty
    -   Mike McCardell, Global BC: East Hastings Series
    -   Duncan McCue, James Roberts and Sara Darling, CBC News: Reading,
        Writing and the Rez

    Jack Webster Business, Industry & Economics Award

        Endowed by Jean Cormier

    -   Don Cayo and Doug Todd, The Vancouver Sun: Deconstructing Taxes
    -   Shannon Paterson, Jim Beatty, Dag Sharman and Peter Grainger,
        CTV British Columbia: Riverbend
    -   Ross Howard, BCBusiness: The Lost City

    Best Reporting - Chinese Language

    -   Ada Luk and Fairchild Current Affairs Team, Fairchild TV: Ah Han's
        Story - How Asian Inmates are Changing Correction Canada's Services
    -   Winnie Hwo, Todd Ye, Karen Cho, Philip Yong, Fairchild TV News and
        Current Affairs Team, Fairchild TV: BC's China Policy
    -   Tony Liaw, CHMB AM1320: Dual Citizenship

    Jack Webster Award for Community Reporting

    -   Kendyl Salcito and Tom Barrett, The Tyee: BC's New War over Private
        Property Rights
    -   Derek Spalding and Allison Cross, Nanaimo Daily News: Designing
    -   Sandy Heimlich-Hall, Bill O'Donovan, Doug Collins, Tim Peeling, Susan
        Edgell, Kyle Donaldson, Jason Trout, Kent Simmonds, Tom Konopski,
        Marcel Chelkowski, Mel Rothenburger, Susan Duncan, Mike Cornell, Cam
        Fortems, Robert Koopmans, Jason Hewlett, Michelle Young, Mike Youds
        and Catherine Litt, Kamloops Daily News & CFJC TV 7: Seeing Red:
        The Pine Beetle Epidemic

    Jack Webster Award for Excellence in Legal Journalism

        Sponsored by the Law Society of BC

    -   Robert Koopmans, Kamloops Daily News: Court Notes
    -   Peter McKnight, Vancouver Sun: Series of columns on legal issues
    -   Lisa Rossington, Janet Dirks, Keri Adams, Kate Corcoran and Brent
        Gilbert, CTV British Columbia: The Pickton Trial

    Jack Webster Award for Science and Technology

    -   Scott Simpson, The Vancouver Sun: Climate Change
    -   Ed Watson, Julie Nolin, Dana Hutchings, Jennifer Crosby and Mary
        Griffin, CH Vancouver Island: Climate of Change
    -   Maurice Bridge, The Vancouver Sun: Rewiring the Brain

    Commentator of the Year

        Presented in memory of Linda Webster

    -   Winner will be announced at the Jack Webster Awards Dinner

    Tickets for the Oct. 22 awards dinner at the Vancouver Convention and
Exhibition Centre can be ordered by calling 604-261-6184, by emailing or by visiting and following the
dinner ticket link. Tickets are $140 per person or $1,400 for a table    of
10. A portion of the dinner ticket price is tax deductible.

    The Jack Webster Foundation, named after the late broadcaster who was
Western Canada's best known and most influential reporter, was established in
1986 to recognize excellence in British Columbia journalism. The work of the
Foundation is made possible by the generous sponsorship of Accenture, BC
Lottery Corporation, Bell Canada, CGA Association, CN, Labatt Breweries of
British Columbia, HSBC Bank Canada, Terasen Gas, Vancouver International
Airport Authority, Vancouver Port Authority and Worksafe BC.

For further information:

For further information: Nora Newlands, Executive Director, Jack Webster
Foundation, Tel. (604) 618-6949, Fax (604) 261-1964, Email:, Web site:

Organization Profile

Jack Webster Foundation

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890