Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) elects new President, Table Officers - New President is Mayor Basil Stewart of Summerside, P.E.I.

    WHISTLER, B.C., June 7 /CNW Telbec/ - Mayor Basil Stewart of Summerside,
P.E.I., was today acclaimed President of the Federation of Canadian
Municipalities (FCM) by municipal government delegates attending FCM's 72nd
Annual Conference in Whistler, B.C.
    Mayor Stewart was elected as mayor of Summerside in 1985 and has served
as mayor for the last 24 years. He was elected Third Vice-President of FCM in
June 2006 in Montreal. He received the Canada 125 Medal in 1992 and was named
Summerside Citizen of the Year in 1989.
    Mayor Stewart is joined on the FCM executive by First Vice-President,
Director Hans Cunningham of the District of Kootenay, B.C.; Second
Vice-President, Councillor Berry Vrbanovic of Kitchener, Ont.; and Third
Vice-President, Councillor Karen Leibovici of Edmonton, Alta.

    The Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) has been the national
voice of municipal government since 1901.

For further information:

For further information: Jocelyn Sweet, (613) 907-6395, jsweet@fcm.ca

Organization Profile

Federation of Canadian Municipalities

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890