Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) Chooses New President, Table Officers - New President is Mayor Jean Perrault, of Sherbrooke, Que.

    QUEBEC CITY, June 1 /CNW Telbec/ - Mayor Jean Perrault, of Sherbrooke,
Que. was today acclaimed President of the Federation of Canadian
Municipalities (FCM) by municipal government delegates attending FCM's 71st
Annual Conference in Quebec City, Que.
    Mayor Perrault was elected to Sherbrooke's municipal council in 1982 and
became mayor 12 years later. He is serving his fourth consecutive term as
mayor of Sherbrooke, Que. He was elected president of the Union des
municipalités du Québec (UMQ) in 2005, becoming that organization's 50th
    He is an accomplished athlete and enjoyed a successful career as a
competitor, coach, administrator and organizer in downhill and waterskiing. He
competed at four world championships in the 1960s and coached the national
waterskiing team at two more worlds in the 1970s.
    Mayor Perrault is joined on the FCM Executive Committee by First
Vice-President, Mayor Basil Stewart of Summerside P.E.I.; Second
Vice-President, Director Hans Cunningham of the District of Kootenay, B.C.;
and Third Vice-President Councillor Berry Vrbanovic of Kitchener, Ont.

    The Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) has been the national
voice of municipal governments since 1901.

For further information:

For further information: Maurice Gingues, (613) 907-6395

Organization Profile

Federation of Canadian Municipalities

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890