Energy-TV Awards winners honoured in style during the Global Petroleum Show

    CALGARY, June 11 /CNW/ - Hundreds of people from the nation's energy
sector joined the 2008 Energy-TV Awards at the Calgary Hyatt Regency on June
11 to honour the industry's leaders. This innovative awards show enabled
industry to nominate and vote for their "pick of the patch" through an
internet based nomination and voting process.
    This second annual Energy-TV Awards was hosted during the Global
Petroleum Show (GPS) to capitalize on this massive event. "We strategically
moved the 2008 Energy-TV Awards so they could be hosted during the world's
largest petroleum show," says Neil Chandran, Energy-TV executive producer. The
move worked and the event was sold out before GPS began.
    An extensive multi-media campaign also resulted in intense voting for
this year's event, with totals reaching in the thousands for some nominees.
"Industry has proven this awards showcase is an effective forum to showcase
the innovations and the innovator in the energy sector," added Shelly Brimble,
co-executive producer of Energy-TV and the overall coordinator of the
Energy-TV Awards.
    A total of 25 awards honoured the icons of the energy sector including
alternative energy products and products. Highlights of the evening included
an Industry Legend Award that was presented in memory of Ron Bullen, founder
of Canadian Fracmaster whose zest for life and international quest in the
Former Soviet Union that opened new frontiers for Canada's service and supply
    Another highlight during the event was the Alberta Solar Decathlon
Project that won the Top Alternative Energy Project. A surprise announcement
came from the presenters, Menova Energy, that they are donating the expensive
solar panels for this project-on behalf of Energy-TV.
    "We are proud to have Tim Montpetit, VP of Business Development for
Menova Energy presents the Top Alternative Energy Project and make this major
announcement," says Helena Devries, co-host of Energy-TV and the Energy-TV
Awards. "On behalf of Menova and Power Panel Inc, Energy TV is happy to
announce their full sponsorship to the Alberta Solar Decathlon team, for the
panel portion of the project."

    The following is a complete list of all of the winners or the 2008
    Energy-TV Awards:

    2008 Energy-TV Award Winners

    Top Junior Producer - Poplar Point Energy Inc.

    Top Oil Sands Producer - Nexen Inc. & OPTI Canada - Long Lake Project

    Top Unconventional Gas Producer- Ember Resources Inc.

    Best Drilling Rig Contractor - Nabors Canada

    Best Service Rig Contractor - Concord Well Servicing

    Best Pipeline Service Company - Flexpipe Systems

    Best Instrumentation Company - Synodon Inc.

    Top Energy Efficient Product - EnerWorks Inc. - Solar Water Heating

    Top Alternative Energy Project- Alberta Solar Decathlon Project

    Environment - Carbon Reduction - Global Energy Services Ltd.

    Top Technology - Drilling - Mostar Directional Technologies Inc.

    Top Technology - IT - Acceleware Corp.

    Leading Safety Organization - Visser Consulting Ltd.

    Award of Merit for Field Safety - David L. Yager

    Inspirational Industry Legend - In Memory of Ronald Bullen

    Top Landman - Chris Hillebrand

    Top Human Resources Initiative - Petroleum HR Council of Canada -

    Top Industry Association - Petroleum Technology Alliance Canada

    Top Educational Institute - Mount Royal College

    Best Personal Donation - Ayaz Gulamhussein

    Best Corporate Community Giving Program- ATCO Gas

    Most Influential Author- David Finch - Pumped

    Top Financial Institution- 32 Degrees Capital

    Most Innovative Project - Deloitte - Producers' Dilemma

    Top Legal Firm - Thackray Burgess, Barristers & Solicitors

    The entire awards event was filmed and will be broadcast as a one hour
television special. Watch the broadcast of the 2008 Energy-TV Awards on:
Global TV across Canada on June 28, 2008 from 11 a.m. to noon and on CityTV in
Calgary and Edmonton on July 6, 2008 from 4 p.m. to 5 p.m.

For further information:

For further information: Shelly Brimble, Energy-TV Co-Executive
Producer, Chandran Media,,, ph.
(403) 237-6422 ext.250 or (403) 804-8605

Organization Profile


More on this organization

News - Media

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890