Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario Honours Extraordinary Achievements

    TORONTO, Aug. 14 /CNW/ - Emily Noble, president of the Elementary
Teachers' Federation of Ontario (ETFO) today presented awards to eleven people
for their extraordinary achievements in the federation and in the community.
    Shelly Jan, president of the Peel Occasional Teacher Local, received the
ETFO Local Leadership Award for her outstanding leadership and service at the
local level. "Shelly recognized that many of the internationally educated
teachers within the local would benefit from focused professional development
that would help them effectively adapt to the Ontario education environment,"
said Noble.
    Toronto author Itah Sadu was given the ETFO Children's Literature Award
for her book 'A Touch of The Zebras'. The award is granted to a non-ETFO
member to recognize quality children's literature that is in keeping with
ETFO's position on social justice and equity. "This is a delightful tale full
of fun and laughter yet at the same time it opens a dialogue to greater
understanding of multi-ethnic families," said Noble.
    Adelina Cecchin, first vice-president of the Greater Essex Teachers Local
and Gary Osley, president of the Greater Essex Teacher Local, were given the
Newsletter Editor's Award (single-sheet); and Diane Dewing, president of the
Upper Canada Occasional Teacher Local, received the Newsletter Editor's Award
(multi-sheet) for their excellent local publications. "These valuable
communications tools ensure that all members of the locals are well informed
of the latest developments within education," Noble said.
    Christine Thrasher of the Avon Maitland Teacher Local received the
Humanitarian Award for an ETFO Member for her outstanding service to education
and the community. "Chris is extremely active in the community," said Noble,
"always with a focus on helping others."
    Windsor lawyer and social activist Marion Overholt received the Women
Working in Social Activism on behalf of Women and Children Award, in
recognition of her efforts to eliminate poverty and violence for women and
children in Ontario. "Marion has a long history of assisting women in the
Windsor area and has been a strong voice for those who live in poverty," said
    Elementary Teachers of Toronto Local member Andrea Kurtz was given the
New Teacher of the Year Award that recognizes a teacher in the first five
years of teaching who has demonstrated exemplary teaching practices, been
involved in the union, and who personifies the goals and objectives of ETFO.
"Andrea has been an ETFO member for two years and in that time has
demonstrated the highest commitment to the profession," Noble said.
    Diane Persall of the Grand Erie Occasional Teacher Local received the
Occasional Teacher of the Year Award, the highest form of recognition
presented to an occasional teacher by the federation. "Passionate
professional, dedicated unionist, caring community member, Diane is an
inspiration to us all," said Noble.
    Greg Weiler of the Waterloo Region Teacher Local was given the ETFO Local
Website of the Year Award for keeping members informed through the local's
website www.etfo-wr.on.ca. "The website presents a clear and professional face
to the public while at the same time providing a valuable resource centre for
local teachers," said Noble.
    Ruth Ann Morley of the Thames Valley Teacher Local received the Health
and Safety Activist Award for her efforts to ensure safe workplaces for
educators. "Ruth Ann exemplifies the qualities this award was designed to
recognize: tenacity, extensive knowledge, a willingness to share her
experience with others, and she engenders a great deal of respect," said

    The Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario represents more than
70,000 public elementary school teachers and education workers across Ontario
and is the largest teacher federation in Canada.

For further information:

For further information: Larry Skory, (416) 948-0195 (cell),
lskory@etfo.org; Johanna Brand, (416) 948-2554 (cell), jbrand@etfo.org; Mary
Morison, (416) 948-3406 (cell), mmorison@etfo.org; August 13-16, ETFO Media
Centre, Queens Quay 1, Concourse Level, The Westin Harbour Castle, Toronto,
Phone: (416) 957-7181, Fax: (416) 957-7180

Organization Profile

Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890