Electricity Distributors Association Announces Local Distribution Company Award Recipients, including New Ontario Power Generation Award, at Annual General Meeting

    TORONTO, March 6 /CNW/ - The Electricity Distributors Association (EDA)
is pleased to announce the recipients of its annual industry awards presented
yesterday, March 5th at its Annual General Meeting in Toronto.
    "The annual presentation of the EDA Awards is a unique opportunity for
the Association to recognize the outstanding contributions of Ontario's local
distribution companies (LDC) and individual industry leaders," said Charlie
Macaluso, EDA President and CEO. "It is with great pride that we are able to
celebrate the many achievements of our members and provide recognition where
it is so rightfully due."
    In its first year, the Ontario Power Generation (OPG) Local Distribution
Company (LDC) Performance Excellence Award was presented to Horizon Utilities
Corporation, Hamilton, for utility performance excellence.
    The award recognizes Horizon Utilities' outstanding success in merging
two utilities, Hamilton Hydro and St. Catharines Hydro, and its exceptional
performance subsequent to the merger in each of the award categories:
occupational health and safety, operational excellence, financial operations,
retail strategies for conservation and demand management, and for contribution
to community.
    "At OPG, we believe it's all about performance. That's why we are
extremely pleased to be involved with this award," said John Murphy, Executive
Vice President, Hydro, of Ontario Power Generation. "A number of excellent
nominees were put forward for the inaugural presentation of the OPG LDC
Performance Excellence Award in 2006. Horizon Utilities demonstrated a level
of exceptional performance in all criteria and we are very pleased to
recognize their achievement."

    Other distinguished EDA award recipients for 2006 included:

    Innovation Award: Presented to Toronto Hydro Electric System Limited for
their innovative energy conservation customer program entitled the "2006
Summer Challenge" that awarded a 10% reduction on hydro bills to customers who
conserved 10% of their energy use.

    Robert H. Hay Award of Exceptional Merit: Presented to Jim MacKenzie,
former President and CEO, Guelph Hydro, for his devoted and energetic service
to the Association, his community, and the electricity distribution industry
over his 38-year career.

    Chair's Citation: Awarded posthumously to John Alton, former President
and CEO, PenWest Utilities, Beamsville, for close to 40 years of outstanding,
dedicated service to the Association and the electricity distribution

    The Electricity Distributors Association (EDA) is the voice of Ontario's
local electricity distributors, the publicly and privately owned companies
that safely and reliably deliver electricity to Ontario homes, businesses and
public institutions.

For further information:

For further information: on the 2006 EDA Awards, contact the EDA's
Manager of Communications and Media Relations, Christine Hallas at (905)

Organization Profile

Electricity Distributors Association

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890