Earth-Shaking Technology from New Brunswick Making Worldwide Impact

    Canadian Wins Accolades for Landslide-Prediction Device

    CALGARY, Sept. 26 /CNW/ - A new ground-motion detector has garnered lead
inventor Lee Danisch a $25,000 award from the Ernest C. Manning Awards
Foundation. Danisch, the Founder and President of high-tech start-up company
Measurand Inc. will receive the Dave Mitchell Award of Distinction on
October 3, 2008.
    Danisch's award-winning technology, called ShapeAccelArray(TM) (SAA),
automatically detects the subtle movements in ground or structures that
forewarn of dangerous landslides or earthquakes, and relays this information
over the wireless Internet. With the existing techniques that SAA replaces,
such motion is impossible to detect in a timely manner. In contrast, SAA
allows people to predict landslides before they occur, so they can take
preventative action. "Peoples' lives are directly affected by what we're
measuring," Danisch says.
    Fully introduced just two years ago, SAA is now used to monitor dangerous
landslide zones near highways, bridges, railroads and construction sites in
Canada, the United States, Europe and Asia. The device is also used for
research at earthquake-simulation facilities, including one of the world's
largest, the National Research Institute for Earth Science and Disaster
Prevention in Japan.
    The idea for SAA grew out of Lee Danisch's prior innovations in
shape-sensing technology. Measurand are the makers of ShapeTape(TM), a
ribbon-like, wireless device that monitors body movements and is used in
crash-testing, computer animation and space science.
    A 15-person company in Fredericton, New Brunswick, Measurand has made
over one half million Can$ from sales of SAA since 2006.

    The Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation

    This year the Foundation will award $165,000 in prize money. Four awards,
totalling $145,000, will go to leading Canadian innovators. Another $20,000
will go to Young Canadians chosen at the 2008 Canada-Wide Science Fair.
    The Foundation was established in 1980 in the name of prominent Alberta
statesman, Ernest C. Manning, to promote and support Canadian innovators. This
year is the first in an ongoing tribute to David E. Mitchell, the creator of
the Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation and Manning Innovation Awards
programs, with the naming of the Dave Mitchell Award of Distinction. This
tribute is sponsored through the generous donations of Friends and Laureates
of the Foundation. Since 1982, the Foundation has presented over $3.9 million
in prize money through its annual awards program. The 2008 awards will be
presented at an awards gala on Friday, October 3 in Halifax, Nova Scotia.
    A Media Backgrounder about the innovator and his work is now available on
the Foundation's website, with video available after October 3, 2008:

For further information:

For further information: on the Foundation, contact Bruce Fenwick,
Executive Director: (403) 645-8288 or; For more
information about Measurand and their products, visit or contact Mr. Lee Danisch: (506) 462-9119 or

Organization Profile


More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890