Dr. Norman Keevil receives Canadian International Business Leader of the Year Award from Canadian Chamber

    OTTAWA, Aug. 10 /CNW Telbec/ - Dr. Norman Keevil, Chairman, Teck Cominco
Limited, is this year's recipient of the Canadian International Business
Leader of the Year Award presented by the Canadian Chamber of Commerce,
Canada's largest business association.
    "In the global economy, you lead or you lose" says Canadian Chamber
President and CEO Perrin Beatty. "Guided by Norm's vision and stewardship,
Teck Cominco has been a true leader and remains a model of Canadian success
both domestically and abroad. The Board of Directors, staff and members of the
Canadian Chamber of Commerce are thrilled to recognize Dr. Keevil and offer
sincere congratulations to him and all his associates at Teck Cominco", added
Mr. Beatty.
    Established in 1992, the Canadian International Executive of the Year
Award recognizes a business executive from a Canadian company whose exemplary
leadership has allowed the company to develop a strong, competitive Canadian
presence in global markets. Given the critical importance of international
trade and investment to our country, the award highlights the achievements of
Canadian businesses in the global business environment and is meant to boost
the often-lacking recognition of Canadian business presence internationally.
    "I am honoured to receive this special award which I accept not for
myself but for all of the people who have dedicated themselves over the years
to Teck's success," said Dr. Keevil.
    The Canadian Chamber of Commerce is the national leader in public policy
advocacy on business issues with a goal to foster a strong and competitive
economic environment that benefits Canada and all Canadians.
    Dr. Keevil will be honoured by his friends, colleagues and business
associates at a gala evening event in Vancouver on November 18, 2008. Previous
award winners include: Donald Stewart, Jim Balsillie and Mike Lazaridis, Tony
Comper, Travis Engen, Wallace McCain, Frank Stronach, Charles Baillie, Peter
Munk, Robert Gillespie, Ted Newall, Peter Godsoe, Guy Saint-Pierre, L.R. (Red)
Wilson, David Morton, Allan R. Taylor, and Laurent Beaudoin.

For further information:

For further information: Sarah Woolverton, Canadian Chamber of Commerce,
(613) 238-4000

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890