Donner Prize 10th Anniversary!

    2007 call for submissions announced

                       Anne McLellan and Peter Harder
                               join 2007 Jury

    TORONTO, Nov. 13 /CNW/ - Allan Gotlieb, Chairman of the Donner Canadian
Foundation, announced the official Call for Submissions for the tenth annual
Donner Prize, and welcomed new jury members Anne McLellan and Peter Harder.
"Books have already started rolling in and, with this being the 10th
Anniversary of the Prize, we're expecting a banner year," said Mr. Gotlieb.
"There's a buzz in the air already about this year's prize, and we're eagerly
anticipating a deluge of stimulating and controversial of which
will eventually take home the coveted $35,000 Donner Prize."
    Mr. Gotlieb also welcomed new jury members, Anne McLellan and Peter
Harder. "We're honoured to welcome Anne and Peter to this year's Donner Prize
Jury." said Mr. Gotlieb, "The jury will benefit greatly from their energy,
political insight, knowledge and sage counsel."
    The Donner Canadian Foundation, one of Canada's largest foundations,
created the prize to encourage increased research into public policy in Canada
and to promote the discussion of policy issues in the public arena. The winner
of the Donner Prize, the award for best book on Canadian public policy, will
receive $35,000, with $5,000 being awarded to the other shortlisted titles (to
a maximum of five titles). In giving this annual award, the Foundation seeks
to not only broaden policy debate, but also to increase general awareness of
the importance of policy discourse.
    Books submitted for the prize should focus on Canadian public policy
issues, for example: regulatory and legal reform, public finance, the
environment, urban affairs, health care, education reform and social policy.
Submissions must be written by Canadian citizens, but they may be published by
non-Canadian publishing houses, so long as the books have implications for
Canada. For the 2007 prize, books that are written by Canadians in either
English or French, between January 1, and December 31, 2007, are eligible (see for complete rules regarding eligibility and
submission procedures).

    The $35,000 Donner Prize for 2006 was awarded to TOWARDS NORTH AMERICAN
MONETARY UNION? The Politics and History of Canada's Exchange Rate Regime, by
Eric Helleiner (McGill-Queen's University Press). The $5,000 shortlisted
titles were: DREAMLAND: How Canada's Pretend Foreign Policy Has Undermined
Sovereignty by Roy Rempel (Breakout Educational Network) and VISITING
GRANDCHILDREN: Economic Development in the Maritimes by Donald J. Savoie
(University of Toronto Press).

    The jury for the 2007 Donner Prize is an eminent group of Canadian
academics, business people and former policy makers. The jury will again be
chaired by Grant Reuber, Senior Fellow, C.D. Howe Institute; former Chairman,
Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation; former President and Chief Operating
Officer and later Deputy Chairman, Bank of Montreal; former Deputy Minister of
Finance for Canada; former provost and Vice-President (Academic) of the
University of Western Ontario; Officer of the Order of Canada; Fellow, Royal
Society of Canada.
    Also returning as members of the jury this year are Claude E. Forget,
former Minister of Health for the Quebec government; former Chairman of the
Commission of Enquiry on Unemployment Insurance; Officer of the Order of
Canada, and Denis Stairs, Professor Emeritus in Political Science at Dalhousie
University; past-president of the Canadian Political Science Association;
founding Director of the Centre for Foreign Policy Studies; Officer of the
Order of Canada. And joining the jury this year are Peter Harder and Anne

    Peter Harder is Senior Policy Advisor to Fraser Milner Casgrain LLP.
Harder possesses a wealth of expertise in public policy as a result of his
involvement at the centre of government decision making for over thirty years.
Harder was the longest serving Deputy Minister in the Government of Canada.
First appointed a Deputy Minister in 1991, he served as the most senior public
servant in a number of federal departments including Treasury Board, Solicitor
General, Citizenship and Immigration, Industry and Foreign Affairs and
International Trade. At Foreign Affairs, he assumed the responsibilities of
the Personal Representative of the Prime Minister to three G8 Summits (Sea
Island, Gleneagles and St. Petersburg). In 2000, the Governor General
presented Harder with the Prime Minister's Outstanding Achievement Award for
public service leadership.

    The Honourable Anne McLellan joined Bennett Jones LLP after a
distinguished career in federal politics, where she served four terms as the
Liberal Member of Parliament for Edmonton Centre from 1993-2006. During her
political career McLellan was Deputy Prime Minister of Canada, Minister of
Public Safety and Emergency Preparedness, Minister of Health, Minister of
Justice and Attorney General of Canada and Minister of Natural Resources and
Federal Interlocutor for Métis and Non-Status Indians. As Deputy Prime
Minister, she chaired two Cabinet committees: the Operations Committee and the
Security, Public Health and Emergencies Committee. She was appointed
Distinguished Scholar in Residence at the University of Alberta's Institute
for United States Policy Studies in July 2006 and currently is acting director
of the Institute.

    The deadline for submissions for this year's prize is November 30. A
shortlist will be announced late March 2008, and the winner will be proclaimed
at a gala dinner in Toronto in April 2008.

For further information:

For further information: Sherry Naylor, Meisner Publicity (Toronto),
Phone: (416) 368-8253, Fax: (416) 363-1448, E-mail:,

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890