Dominic D'Alessandro Named Ivey Business Leader of the Year

    TORONTO, March 18 /CNW/ - Dominic D'Alessandro, President and Chief
Executive Officer, Manulife Financial will receive this year's Ivey Business
Leader Award at a gala dinner on October 29, 2008.
    Mr. D'Alessandro's accomplishments in the Canadian business scene and
around the world are well known. Since becoming CEO of Manulife Financial in
1994, Mr. D'Alessandro has propelled the financial services company to its
fourteenth consecutive year of record financial performance, resulting in
Manulife being among the most profitable life insurance companies in North
America. He led the successful demutualization and conversion of Manulife to
public company status in 1999, setting the stage for Manulife to become a
world leader in financial services.
    Nowhere was his business acumen and deal-making expertise more apparent
than in the 2004 acquisition of John Hancock Financial Services by Manulife,
the largest cross-border transaction in Canadian history at the time. The
merger created the second largest life insurance company in North America and
the fourth largest in the world at the time.
    Created in 1991 by the Ivey Alumni Association/Toronto Chapter, the Ivey
Business Leader Award honours individuals and organizations that have made a
significant contribution to the advancement of business in Canada, and reflect
the ideals of the Richard Ivey School of Business.
    "It gives me great pleasure to celebrate Dominic's exceptional leadership
with this award. His role in managing the successful completion of the merger
with John Hancock Financial Services is exemplary of his cross-enterprise
leadership," said Carol Stephenson, Dean, Richard Ivey School of Business.
"Dominic has been a strong voice in encouraging Canadian companies to take
bold action such that they grow into global leaders in their fields."
    Being a good corporate citizen is an integral part of Mr. D'Alessandro's
convictions. Corporate gifts and sponsorships to Manulife's communities have
increased significantly during his tenure. Mr. D'Alessandro is personally
involved in giving back and served as Campaign Chair for the Salvation Army
capital campaign. He has also served as the Campaign Chair for the Greater
Toronto United Way Campaign in 1998 and as a Co-chairman of the Corporate Fund
for Breast Cancer Research Campaign in 1996. Currently he co-chairs the
Montreal Neurological Institute's fundraising campaign, a five-year,
$40- million initiative to invest in people and expand facilities and
    As well as other awards, Mr. D'Alessandro was named an Officer of the
Order of Canada in 2003 and was named Canada's Most Respected CEO for 2004 and
Canada's Outstanding CEO of the Year in 2002 by his peers for his contribution
to business and the community. In November 2006, Canadian Prime Minister
Stephen Harper named Mr. D'Alessandro to the Advisory Committee on the Public
Service of Canada, and in June 2006 appointed him to NAFTA's North American
Competitiveness Council.
    "I am extremely pleased to honour Dominic D'Alessandro's visionary
leadership in building a company that has helped make Canada a global
competitor. At a time when many Canadian organizations are being sold to
foreign companies, he has helped create a robust international company that
will help our economy remain strong well into the future," said Tim Hockey,
Group Head Personal Banking and Co-Chair TD Canada Trust, TD Bank Financial
Group and Co-Chair of the Ivey Business Leader Award Committee.
    Dominic D'Alessandro joins an esteemed list of past Ivey Business Leader
Award recipients demonstrating leadership in both business and their
communities. Past recipients of the award include:

    -   2007 - Claude Lamoureux, President & CEO and Robert Bertram,
        Executive Vice-President, Investments, Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan
    -   2006 - Isadore Sharp, Chairman and CEO, Four Seasons Hotels Inc.
    -   2005 - Peter Godsoe, former Chairman and CEO, The Bank of Nova Scotia
    -   2002 - Gwyn Morgan, President and CEO, EnCana Corporation
    -   2001 - Harrison McCain, Chairman, McCain Foods Limited, and
        G. Wallace McCain, Chairman, Maple Leaf Foods Inc.
    -   2000 - Purdy Crawford, Chairman, AT&T Canada; former Chairman Imasco
        and Canada Trust
    -   1999 - Fairfax Financial Holdings Limited, led by Prem Watsa,
    -   1998 - Paul Desmarais, Chairman of the Executive Committee, Power
        Corporation of Canada
    -   1997 - Frank Stronach, Chairman of the Board, Magna International
    -   1996 - Jean C. Monty, President and CEO, Northern Telecom Limited
    -   1995 - R. Jack Lawrence, Deputy Chairman, Nesbitt Burns Inc.
    -   1994 - Robert Nourse, President and CEO, The Bombay Company Inc.
    -   1993 - Cedric E. Ritchie, Chairman, The Bank of Nova Scotia
    -   1992 - John C. Carroll, President and CEO, Molson Breweries
    -   1991 - John M. Thompson, Chairman and CEO, IBM Canada Limited

    The Ivey Business Leader Award, co-chaired by Tim Hockey and Mary
Whittle, Director WW Distribution Development, Motorola Inc., will be
presented at a black tie dinner at Toronto's Four Seasons Hotel. Proceeds from
the event support the Ivey Alumni Association Toronto Chapter HBA and MBA
Scholarships established to attract top students to the School.

For further information:

For further information: Marisa Kanas, Communications Specialist, (519)
850-2536,; Mary Weil, Manager, Media & Public Relations, (416)

Organization Profile

Ivey Business School

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890