Director Brendan Healy honoured with the 2009 Pauline McGibbon Award

    TORONTO, June 29 /CNW/ - Brendan Healy is the 2009 recipient of the
Pauline McGibbon Award. The announcement was made at the Dora Mavor Moore
Awards in Toronto by the Hon. Aileen Carroll, Minister of Culture.

    About Brendan Healy

    -   Brendan Healy studied theatre performance at Concordia University. In
        2003, he was in the directing program at the National Theatre School
        where he was mentored by Chris Abraham, Sarah Stanley, Keith Turnbull
        and Daniel Brooks, among others, and in 2004, Brendan studied under
        Anne Bogart and the SITI Company during their summer intensive.
    -   While cast in Greg MacArthur's Girls!Girls!Girls!, directed by Peter
        Hinton and presented at the 2001 Festival de théâtre des Amériques,
        Brendan Healy met Richard Maxwell (Artistic Director of New York City
        Players, a multiple OBIE Award winning company), with whom he
    -   Recent projects include: Swipe: an Operetta (Hysteria 2005); Down the
        Main Drag (SummerWorks 2005 and HATCH/Harbourfront 2006); Emergency
        Exits and Garden (both Summerworks 2006); I Am My Own Wife (Saidye
        Bronfman Centre, Montreal; Theatre Kingston, 2008); Breakfast
        (Theatre Centre/Independent Auntie Theatre, 2008), and Dying To Be
        Sick, a new translation of Moliere's The Imaginary Invalid (Pleiades
        Theatre and the National Arts Centre, 2008-09).
    -   Brendan Healy is the incoming Associate Artist at Crow's Theatre, an
        Artist-in-Residence at the Theatre Centre, a member of CanStage's
        BASH: Artist Development Program, and a member of the Soulpepper
    -   He received the 2006 Ken McDougall Award for Emerging Director.
    -   Brendan Healy is originally from Montreal.

    About the Pauline McGibbon Award:

    -   The Pauline McGibbon Award is presented annually on a three year
        cycle at the Dora Mavor Moore Awards to directors (2009), production
        craftspersons (2010), and designers (2011) to recognize an Ontario
        theatre professional in the early stages of his or her career with
        unique talent and a potential for excellence.
    -   The award includes a $7,000 prize and a medal designed by Dora de
        Pedery Hunt.
    -   The award is presented by the Ministry of Culture
        ( and is administered by the Ontario
        Arts Council (
    -   Established in 1981, it honours former Lieutenant Governor Pauline
        McGibbon for her support and patronage of the arts.
    -   Past recipients
        ( of the
        Pauline McGibbon Award include the following directors: Jennifer
        Tarver (2006), Kelly Thornton (2003), Darren O'Donnell (2000), Ed Roy
        (1997), Daniel Brooks (1994), Leah Cherniak (1991), Jo Ann McIntyre
        (1988), Sky Gilbert (1985), William Lane (1982).
    -   This year's jurors were: Franco Boni (Toronto), Susan Ferley
        (London), Ken Gass (Toronto), Lise-Ann Johnson (Ottawa), Jovanni Sy


    "Healy has demonstrated a dedication to his craft and originality at this
stage in his career," concluded the 2009 Pauline McGibbon Award Jurors. They
commended Healy for his: "clear and articulate vision" as well as his
"understanding of the depth of the collaborative process".
    "I congratulate Brendan Healy for being recognized with the Pauline
McGibbon Award. He has made remarkable contributions to theatre in Ontario,
and will no doubt continue to accomplish great things in the future," said
Culture Minister Aileen Carroll.

    The Ontario Arts Council (OAC) is the province of Ontario's primary
funding body for professional arts activity. Since 1963, the OAC has played a
vital role in promoting and assisting the development of the arts and artists
for the enjoyment and benefit of Ontarians.

                  Ce document existe également en français.

For further information:

For further information: MEDIA INQUIRIES: Kirsten Gunter, Director of
Communications, OAC, (416) 969-7403, 1-800-387-0058, ext. 7403,

Organization Profile

Ontario Arts Council

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890