CSA renews terms of Chair and Vice-Chair

    MONTREAL, April 23 /CNW Telbec/ - At the latest meeting of the members of
the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA), held in Toronto on March 28 and
29, 2007, the term of CSA Chair Jean St-Gelais, President and CEO of the
Autorité des marchés financiers (AMF), was renewed for two years. Mr.
St-Gelais was appointed CSA Chair in April 2005.
    "I am delighted to be able to assume this role for another two years and
look forward to further co-operation with my colleagues from other
jurisdictions to further harmonize and improve the regulation of capital
markets," said Mr. St-Gelais.
    The term of CSA Vice-Chair Don Murray, Chair of the Manitoba Securities
Commission, was also renewed for two years. "We will continue to apply the
CSA's strategic principles and pursue our efforts toward the implementation of
a more harmonized and streamlined securities regime in Canada," noted Mr.
    The CSA, the council of securities regulators of Canada's provinces and
territories, coordinate and harmonize regulation for the Canadian capital
markets. Their mandate is to protect investors from unfair or fraudulent
practices through regulation of the securities industry. Part of this
protection is educating investors about the risk, responsibilities and rewards
of investing.


    Frédéric Alberro                   Jane Gillies
    Autorité des marchés financiers    New Brunswick Securities Commission
    514-940-2176                       506-643-7745

    Carolyn Shaw-Rimmington            Ainsley Cunningham
    Ontario Securities Commission      Manitoba Securities Commission
    416-593-2361                       204-945-4733

    Andrew Poon                        Nicholas A. Pittas
    British Columbia                   Nova Scotia Securities Commission
    Securities Commission              902-424-6859

    Tamera Van Brunt                   Barbara Shourounis
    Alberta Securities Commission      Saskatchewan Financial Services
    403-297-2664                       Commission

    Marc Gallant                       Doug Connolly
    Office of the Attorney General     Financial Services Regulation
    Prince Edward Island               Division Newfoundland and
    902-368-4552                       Labrador

    Donald MacDougall                  Jennifer MacIsaac
    Securities Registry                Nunavut Securities Registry
    Northwest Territories              867-975-6591

    Bette Boyd
    Yukon Securities Registry
    -%SU: TAX
    -%RE: 1

For further information:

For further information: Frédéric Alberro, Autorité des marchés
financiers, (514) 940-2176, Carolyn Shaw-Rimmington, Ontario Securities
Commission, (416) 593-2361; Andrew Poon, British Columbia Securities
Commission, (604) 899-6880; Tamera Van Brunt, Alberta Securities Commission,
(403) 297-2664; Marc Gallant, Office of the Attorney General, Prince Edward
Island, (902) 368-4552; Donald MacDougall, Securities Registry, Northwest
Territories, (867) 920-8984; Bette Boyd, Yukon Securities Registry, (867)
667-5225; Jane Gillies, New Brunswick Securities Commission, (506) 643-7745;
Ainsley Cunningham, Manitoba Securities Commission, (204) 945-4733; Nicholas
A. Pittas, Nova Scotia Securities Commission, (902) 424-6859; Barbara
Shourounis, Saskatchewan Financial Services Commission, (306) 787-5842; Doug
Connolly, Financial Services Regulation, Division Newfoundland and Labrador,
(709) 729-2594; Jennifer MacIsaac, Nunavut Securities Registry, (867)

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890