Creators of Innovative Water-Efficient Toilet Achieve National Recognition

    Ontario Family of Inventors Feel the Flush of Success

    CALGARY, Sept. 12 /CNW/ - Nephew-and-uncle-team Philip and Arnold
Hennessy have been recognized with a $10,000 Manning Innovation Award,
sponsored by KatchKan(TM) Ltd., for inventing and developing the Flapperless,
Tip-Bucket Toilet. The low-flow and leak-proof toilet is engineered for
ultimate water-efficiency, but does not require any lifestyle changes on the
part of the user.
    On the outside, a Flapperless looks like any other toilet, but instead of
draining the tank through a flappered outlet, a bucket of water inside the
tank tips to make the toilet flush. A leaky toilet can waste as much as
200,000 litres of water a year, reports Environment Canada. By getting rid of
the flapper, says Arnold Hennessy, the flush valve cannot leak.
    In 2005, the United Nations Water for Life campaign in Canada recognized
the Flapperless toilet as an innovative water-conservation solution. The
presentation of this award led to a national public service announcement by
Global TV. Intent on improvement, in 2007, Flapperless Inc. put three new
toilets on the market that use only 4.8 litres of water per flush. The typical
residential low-flow toilet uses 6 litres.
    As Canadians are slowly realizing, "our most precious resource is water,"
says Philip Hennessy. He and uncle, Arnold Hennessy, who came up with the
initial tip-bucket design, are pleased to see their innovation becoming a
standard fixture in the growing number of Canadian communities committed to
water conservation. The toilets are eligible for low-flow toilet rebate
programs from coast to coast, including the City of Calgary and Town of
Canmore in Alberta, and several municipalities in Ontario.
    Over 1 million Flapperless toilets have been sold in Canada and the
United States. The toilets are also marketed in Mexico, the Middle East and

    The Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation

    This year the Foundation will award $165,000 in prize money. Four awards,
totalling $145,000, will go to leading Canadian innovators. Another $20,000
will go to Young Canadians chosen at the 2008 Canada-Wide Science Fair.
    The Foundation was established in 1980 in the name of prominent Alberta
statesman, Ernest C. Manning, to promote and support Canadian innovators.
Since 1982, the Foundation has presented over $3.9 million in prize money
through its annual awards program. The 2008 awards will be presented at an
awards gala on Friday, October 3 in Halifax, Nova Scotia.

    -   A Media Backgrounder about the innovators and their work is now
        available on the Foundation's website, with video available after
        October 3, 2008:

For further information:

For further information: on the Foundation, contact Bruce Fenwick,
Executive Director, (403) 645-8288 or; For more
information about the innovators and their products, visit; or contact Mr. Philip Hennessy, (613)
398-0108 or

Organization Profile


More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890