CPRS Hamilton Congratulates 2007 Pinnacle Award Winners!!!

    HAMILTON, ON, April 24 /CNW/ - The Hamilton Society of the Canadian
Public Relations Society (CPRS) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2007
Pinnacle Awards. The Pinnacle Awards recognize outstanding achievement in the
practice of public relations including communication management, external
communications, writing, production of annual reports, and special events.
    CPRS Hamilton also recognizes a number of individuals whose contribution
to the society helps to advance the profession of public relations.
    This year's 34 submissions for a Pinnacle Award were evaluated by an
independent panel of judges recognized for their experience and expertise in
public relations and/or have attained their accreditation in public relations
(APR). Entries were evaluated according to a point system. The judges were
looking for specific factors including: originality, sound
communication-planning methods and measurable results.
    "The CPRS Hamilton Pinnacle Awards are a showcase of public relations
excellence and expertise throughout Hamilton, Halton, Niagara and south
western Ontario," said CPRS Hamilton President, Carleen Carroll.
    The Awards were presented at a Gala Dinner on Thursday, March 29th at the
Old Mill in Ancaster, Ontario. The dinner featured guest speaker, Chris Lewis,
Deputy Commissioner of the Ontario Provincial Police, who spoke to issues of
communications and security.
    The list of CPRS Hamilton winners and judges is attached.

    2007 CPRS Hamilton Pinnacle Awards


    Communication Management

    Pinnacle Winner

    Halton Region - "Building Communications Excellence in Halton Region",
    Carleen Carroll, APR


    Pinnacle Winner

    Halton Region - "Halton Region's Green Cart demonstration Project",
    Heather Burnett, Sandie Drzewiecki, Shirley McLean and Leslie Greener

    Award of Merit

    Pier 8 Group and Niagara Region Public Health Department - "Niagara's
    Keeping Children Safe Outdoors", Jeff Martin, APR Fellow CPRS, Judy Mair,
    Bob Mills, Christina Bradley, Peter Stevens



    Award of Merit

    McMaster University - "News Release: The Secret of the Hardy Boys Lies in
    McMaster's Vault", Andrea Farquhar, Jane Christmas

    Annual Report

    Pinnacle Winner

    Halton Region - "Halton Region 2005 Annual Report", Maria McDonald, Colin

    Award of Merit

    Niagara College - "Report to the Community 2005-06", Darrell Neufeld,
    APR, Michael Wales, Patti Lemene


    Pinnacle Winner

    JEM Communications - "Focus Newsletter", Joanne Emerson APR

    Special Publication

    Award of Merit

    Population Health Research Institute - "2006 Population Health Research
    Institute Report", Liisa Morley

    Web Site

    Award of Merit

    Shalom Village - "The Shalom Village Web Site", Bob Deans

    Special Event

    Pinnacle Winner

    Corporate Communications Program, Sheridan College Institute - "Bank Bed
    Challenge", Jeremy Dyck, Hilary Sadler, Brenda Sweeney, APR, Andrew

    Award of Merit

    United Way Dundas Committee - "Whole Lotta Love Gala", Allyson Wenzowski,
    Viola Mueller


    Pinnacle Winner

    Sheridan Institute - "Roller Derby Revival: Hammer City Roller Girls",
    Daniel DiSalvo, Andrea Lukac, Kristy Quagliariello, Kimberly Sopko,
    Heather Sullivan


        -  Bill Cockman Memorial Award of Excellence in PR - Kimberlee Lambe,
           Niagara Region

        -  Student Award of Excellence - Joanna Magee, University of Western

        -  Dr. Louis J. Cahill Distinguished Service Award - Frank Florio,
           APR, retired

        -  Mentorship Award - Jeff Martin, APR Fellow CPRS, Quorum PR, and
           Ginny Jones, APR, Acuity Options

    2007 CPRS Hamilton Pinnacle Award Judges

    David Morelli, 2007 Pinnacle Judging Chair, Vice President/Director,
    Cohn & Wolfe, Toronto

    Renee Belec, Director, Y&R Brands, Montreal

    John Challinor II, Director, Communications, Jamieson Laboratories,

    Christine Doherty, Director, Corporate Events, Research in Motion,

    Rachel Douglas, Director, Public Affairs, Tim Hortons

    David Estok, Editor in Chief, Hamilton Spectator

    Jeff Lake, APR, Senior Vice President, Punch Communications

    Lauren More, Vice President, Public Affairs, Ford Motor Company of
    Canada, Oakville

    David Rowney, Vice President, Marketing Communications, AEC Earth &
    Environmental Ltd., Mississauga

    Diane Slopek-Weber, Director, Corporate Communications, Tim Hortons Inc.,

    Nancy Hutton, 2007 Pinnacle Judging Co-ordinator, Co-chair 2007 Pinnacle
    Director, Public Relations & Corporate Communications, London, Ontario

For further information:

For further information: Media Contact: Carleen Carroll, (905) 825-6000;
Nancy Hutton, (519) 661-5800 ext 5797

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890