Corporate governance gurus to be recipients of this year's Ivey Business Leader Award

    TORONTO, March 7 /CNW/ - The Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan team of
Claude Lamoureux, President & CEO, and Robert Bertram, Executive
Vice-President, Investments, will receive this year's Ivey Business Leader
Award at a gala dinner on October 3rd, 2007.
    Created in 1991 by the Ivey Alumni Association/Toronto Chapter, the Ivey
Business Leader Award honours individuals and organizations that have made a
significant contribution to the advancement of business in Canada, and reflect
the ideals of the Richard Ivey School of Business.
    "We are delighted to honour both Claude Lamoureux's and Robert Bertram's
outstanding achievements in business as well as their ongoing commitment to
strong corporate governance in Canada," said Carol Stephenson, Dean, Richard
Ivey School of Business. "In a time when the need for integrity and strong
leadership among corporate leaders is more important than ever, Claude and
Robert stand as an example to us all."
    Lamoureux, an actuary by training and outspoken advocate for improved
corporate governance, is a co-founder of the Canadian Coalition for Good
Governance. Bertram, the executive responsible for managing the investments of
the Ontario Teachers' Pension Plan is a past chair of the Pension Investment
Association of Canada. Together, this team has led Teachers' since the
Province established the independent corporation to invest the plan's assets
and administer the pensions of Ontario teachers in 1990.
    Lamoureux and Bertram, themselves directors in both the for-profit and
not-for-profit realms, have propelled Teachers' to more than $100 billion in
net assets. They have also made their marks as trailblazers in the drive for
reforming corporate governance in Canada. Their combined development and
investment leadership has consistently placed Teachers' in the top quartile
for pension fund performance in Canada and has earned Teachers' worldwide
    In 1990, when the Lamoureux/Bertram team took over at Teachers', scandals
like Enron were far in the future. But when they and Stephen Jarislowsky of
Jarislowsky Fraser Ltd., created the Canadian Coalition for Good Governance in
2003, this dynamic team set the path for shareholder activism. Today, the
governance lobby group includes nearly 50 pension funds, mutual funds and
other institutional investors that control about $550 billion in assets.
    "Claude Lamoureux and Robert Bertram together have done more than anyone
else to advance the cause of shareholder rights within corporate Canada and
their influence is felt beyond our borders well into the global community,"
said Gilles Ouellette, co-Chair of the Ivey Business Leader Award Committee
and President and CEO of the Private Client Group, BMO Financial Group.
    Lamoureux and Bertram join an esteemed list of past Ivey Business Leader
Award recipients demonstrating leadership in both business and their
communities. Past recipients of the award include:

    -   2006 - Isadore Sharp, Chairman and CEO, Four Seasons Hotels Inc.
    -   2005 - Peter Godsoe, former Chairman and CEO, The Bank of Nova Scotia
    -   2002 - Gwyn Morgan, President and CEO, EnCana Corporation
    -   2001 - Harrison McCain, Chairman, McCain Foods Limited, and
               G. Wallace McCain, Chairman, Maple Leaf Foods Inc.
    -   2000 - Purdy Crawford, Chairman, AT&T Canada; former Chairman Imasco
               and Canada Trust
    -   1999 - Fairfax Financial Holdings Limited, led by Prem Watsa,
    -   1998 - Paul Desmarais, Chairman of the Executive Committee, Power
               Corporation of Canada
    -   1997 - Frank Stronach, Chairman of the Board, Magna International
    -   1996 - Jean C. Monty, President and CEO, Northern Telecom Limited
    -   1995 - R. Jack Lawrence, Deputy Chairman, Nesbitt Burns Inc.
    -   1994 - Robert Nourse, President and CEO, The Bombay Company Inc.
    -   1993 - Cedric E. Ritchie, Chairman, The Bank of Nova Scotia
    -   1992 - John C. Carroll, President and CEO, Molson Breweries
    -   1991 - John M. Thompson, Chairman and CEO, IBM Canada Limited

    The Ivey Business Leader Award, co-chaired by Gilles Ouellette and Mary
Whittle, Director WW Distribution Development, Motorola Inc., will be
presented at a black tie dinner at Toronto's Four Season hotel. Proceeds from
the event support the Ivey Alumni Association/Toronto International Student
Awards and the Faculty Fellowship in Business Leadership established to
attract top quality faculty to the School.
    The Richard Ivey School of Business at The University of Western Ontario
( offers full-time undergraduate and graduate degree programs.
Ivey has campuses in London (Ontario), Toronto, and Hong Kong, where it was
the first North American business school to establish a permanent campus in
Hong Kong.

    What:  Ivey Business Leader Dinner Award
    Where: Four Seasons Hotel, 21 Avenue Rd., Toronto
    When:  6 p.m. Wednesday October 3, 2007

    Sponsorships and Tables for the Award ceremony are available by
contacting the Ivey Alumni Association office at 416-979-2046 or

For further information:

For further information: Mary Weil, Richard Ivey School of Business,
(416) 203-0664; Marisa Kanas, Richard Ivey School of Business, (519) 850-2536

Organization Profile

Ivey Business School

More on this organization

Custom Packages

Browse our custom packages or build your own to meet your unique communications needs.

Start today.

CNW Membership

Fill out a CNW membership form or contact us at 1 (877) 269-7890

Learn about CNW services

Request more information about CNW products and services or call us at 1 (877) 269-7890